Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Wed, Jan 26

    Olympic heroine Hidilyn Diaz to be honored as 2016 Athlete of the Year in PSA Awards Night

    Feb 12, 2017
    Hidilyn Diaz leads the awardees in the PSA Awards Night. Jerome Ascano

    THE cream of the crop of Philippine sports in the past year take centerstage when the Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA) holds its Annual Awards Night presented by San Miguel and MILO at the LE PAVILLON in Pasay City on Monday.

    Hidilyn Diaz, whose silver medal in the Rio De Janeiro Olympics gave this country its proudest moment in 2016, will be recognized with the Athlete of the Year award, the highest honor bestowed by the country’s oldest media organization first established in 1949 and currently headed by president Riera Mallari of The Standard.

    The 25-year-old pride of Zamboanga City leads 91 other personalities and entities who are also going to be honored during the formal gala night co-presented by CIGNAL/HYPER HD.

    Awards proper starts at 7:30 p.m. to be hosted by Quinito Henson, Patricia Bermudez-Hizon, Carla Lizardo, and Steph Ongkiko.

    Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) president Jose ‘Peping’ Cojuangco and Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) chairman William ‘Butch’ Ramirez lead the local sports community in paying homage to all the stars of the affair being held in partnership with the PSC, Smart, Phoenix Petroleum, Foton, ICTSI, Globalport, Mighty Sports, and Rain or Shine.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Notable titles to be handed out are the Lifetime Achievement Award (Eugene Torre), President’s Award (Milo Rivera), Executive of the Year (Philip Ella Juico), and National Sports Association of the Year (Philippine Athletics Track and Field Association).

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    Posthumous award will also be extended to beloved sports personalities who passed away over the past year led by legends Carlos ‘Caloy’ Loyzaga, Virgilio ‘Baby’ Dalupan, and Filomeno ‘Boy’ Codinera.

    Those who failed to receive their invitations can personally get it at the registration center of the venue during the program also backed by the Philippine Basketball Association, Federal Land, SM Prime Holdings Inc., Meralco, ACCEL, NLEX, MVP Sports Foundation, and the Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office.


    Athlete of the Year – Hidilyn Diaz

    Lifetime Achievement Award – Eugene Torre

    President’s Award – Milo Rivera

    Executive of the Year – Philip Ella Juico

    NSA of the Year – Philippine Athletics Track and Field Association (Patafa)

    Continue reading below ↓

    Mr. Basketball – June Mar Fajardo

    Mr. Football – Misagh Bahadoran

    Mr. Golf – Miguel Tabuena

    Mr. Taekwondo – Jeordan Dominguez

    Ms. Volleyball – Mika Reyes

    Major Award - Josephine Medina (paralympics), Janelle Mae Frayna (chess), Eric Shauwn Cray (athletics), Marestella Torres-Sunang (athletics), Mary Joy Tabal (marathon), Ian Lariba (table tennis), Kirstie Elaine Alora (taekwondo), Nestor Colonia (weightlifting), Philippine Poomsae Team (Jean Pierre Sabido, Ernesto Guzman Jr., Jeordan Dominguez, Glenn Lava), San Miguel Beer (pro basketball), Jeron Alvin Teng (amateur basketball), Johnriel Casimero (boxing), Yuka Saso (golf), Eduard Folayang (mixed martial arts), Marvin Mangulabnan (superbike), Mark Alvarez (Jockey of the Year), Low Profile (Horse of the Year)

    Citation - Ernest John Obiena (athletics), Chezka Centeno (billiards), Rogen Ladon (boxing), Charly Suarez (boxing), Marlon Tapales (boxing), Gretchen Abaniel (boxing), Jerwin Ancajas (boxing), Criztian Pitt Laurente (boxing), Ariana Thea Patrice Dormitorio (cycling), Sofia Chabon (golf), Bernice Olivarez-Ilas (golf), Annie Ramirez (jiu-jitsu), Margarita Ochoa (jiu-jitsu), Joseph Myers (jiu-jitsu), Orencio James delos Santos (karate), Jacob Ang (karting), Brandon Michael Vera (mixed martial arts), Kenneth San Andres (motocross), Pauline Louise Lopez (taekwondo), Juvenile Faye Crisostomo (taekwondo), Patrick John Tierro (tennis), Monica Torres (triathlon), August Benedicto (triathlon), Divine Wally (wushu), Arnel Mandal (wushu), Ramon “Tats” Suzara (volleyball), Johnny Tan (motorsports), National University Lady Bulldogs (women’s basketball), National University Pep Squad (cheerdance), Pocari Sweat (volleyball), RC Cola-Army (volleyball), Philippine Dragon Boat Team, Philippine Fencing Team, Philippine Sailing Team, Philippine Sepak Takraw Team, Phillippine Canoe Kayak Federation, United Football League (UFL), Women’s Volleyball League (WVL), Pru Life (football), TV 5, UNTV

    Continue reading below ↓

    Milo Junior Male Athlete of the Year – Adam Bondoc (karatedo)

    Milo Junior Female Athlete of the Year – Kyla Soguilon (swimming)

    Tony Siddayao Award - Ancilla Mari Manzano (gymnastics), Khazart William ‘Khaz’ Romoff (karting), Joan Masangkay (powerlifting), Arielle Pascual (skating), Maurice Sacho Ilustre (swimming), Jerard Dominic Jacinto (swimming), Marc Bryan Dula (swimming), Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh (swimming), Tara Borlain (triathlon), Samantha Borlain (triathlon)

    Posthumous Award - Carlos “Caloy" Loyzaga, Filomeno “Boy” Codiñera, Virgilio “Baby” Dalupan, Mariano “Tom” Ong, Cecil Hechanova, Ronnie Nathanielsz, Herminigildo “Hermie” Rivera, Jonas Mariano, Gilbert Bulawan, Emy Arcilla, Benjie Castro, Rogie Maglinas

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
    Hidilyn Diaz leads the awardees in the PSA Awards Night. Jerome Ascano
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result