Team Turbo shoots way to gold in 1st PLDT Pilipinas International water polo event
Optimum Sports head Dale Evangelista (center) with participants of the 1st PLDT Home Fibr Pilipinas International Beach Sports Festival, including beach water polo champion Turbo led by national team veteran Tani Gomez

TEAM Turbo bagged the gold medal in the water polo event of the 1st PLDT Home Fibr Pilipinas International Beach Sports Festival held over the weekend at the Anvaya Cove Beach and Nature Club in Morong, Bataan.

Led by water polo national team veteran Tani Gomez, Turbo, a swim wear brand made in Spain, outclassed the visiting Guam 2 in the championship round, 15-7, for the win in the event organized by Optimum Sports.

“It was a successful event, with three visiting teams joining the meet,” said Optimum Sports head Dale Evangelista, a former member of the national team and now head coach of the women’s squad.

“Hopefully we can attract more participants in future events as we continue to promote our sports, especially beach water polo, because that’s our main objective,” added Evangelista.

Turbo and Guam 2 were in Group B with Shanghai in the six-team competition, while bracketed in Group A were Guam 1 and local teams Seafood Island and the Concorso Forza.

Turbo, which topped Group B, downed Shanghai in the semifinals, 21-11, while Guam 2 defeated Seafood Island, 11-8, to arrange a title showdown in the 3-on-3 beach water polo competition.

Other members of Turbo are national team members Romark Belo, JP Serrano, Reynaldo Salonga Jr., Mark Jerwin Valdez, and Mico Anota.

It was actually the second title for Gomez as he also powered Sureshots when the first beach water polo event was held last year.

Guam 2 and Seafood Island settled for silver and bronze medals, respectively, in the event supported Sureshot Sportsville, Gardenia, Biker’s Café, Seafood Island, Turbo, Aqua Marina, and Sante Barley.

In the Open Water event, the winners were Christine Gaspar and Matthew Vital (female/male) in the 3km adult, Veronica Deldio and Albert Santos in 2km adult, Marie Parilla and Hiroshi Takei in 1.5km adult, Heather Colleen Sanguyo and Aaron Alagban in 13-17 1.5km, Kyren Sheloah Abulog and Tomas Bryce A Cabrera in 13-17 1km, and Abegail Jenise Almario and Matthew Dasig in 7-12 1km


Follow the writer on Twitter: @spinph