La Salle looks to upend titleholder Ateneo as UAAP 79 swimming competitions fire off
La Salle hopes to finish on top this time after placing second in the men's competitions and third in the women's side last season. 

LA Salle looks to topple two-time defending champion Ateneo as the UAAP Season 79 swimming competitions open on Thursday at the Rizal Memorial Tennis Center.

Ateneo has won two straight men’s and women’s titles, while the Green and Lady Tankers coached by former national team member Evan Grabador look to take the top spot after finishing second place in the men’s and third in the women’s division last year.

Team captain Vince Raymundo, former Rookie of the Year Neil Puyo and Asean School Games medalist Red Silvestre, an age group record holder in the 50m butterfly, lead the La Salle squad.

Former Palarong Pambansa Most Valuable Player Catherine Bondad, Alnair Guevarra, Robby Agustin, and rookies Rochmond Santos and Benzi Yang are also seeing action for the Hapee-backed squad.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @reubensports