NU Lady Bulldogs eye back-to-back titles as V-League Collegiate Conference kicks off
Jaja Santiago once again leads the NU Lady Bulldogs looking to defend the crown in the Shakey's V-League Season 13 Collegiate Conference. Jerome Ascano

NATIONAL University kicks off its title-retention bid in the Shakey's V-League Season 13 Collegiate Conference on July 30.

The Lady Bulldogs, who defeated Ateneo in three games to cop the crown last year, will be up against UAAP Season 78 bridesmaid Lady Eagles, NCAA runner up San Sebastian College -Recoletos, Technological Institute of the Philippines and Perpetual Help in Group A, where they have to go through a single round robin eliminations.

On the other hand, NCAA defending champ College of St. Benilde, Far Eastern University, San Beda, University of Santo Tomas and University of the Philippines will square off in Group B. The top three teams in each bracket will advance in the quarterfinals.

NU will again rely on 6-foot-5 middle blocker Jaja Santiago but finds itself without hard-hitting Myla Pablo as she has already graduated and joined Open Conference champion Pocari Sweat.

Playdates will be during Monday, Wednesday and Saturday.

In the quarterfinals, the six teams will play one round but only against the squads from their opposite group. The win-loss records of the teams in the prelims will be carried over in the quarters, and the top four teams in the quarterfinals will advance to the semifinals where the top-seed faces the No. 4 squad while the second- and third-ranked teams battle in their respective best-of-three duels.

Semis winners will battle in another best-of-three series for the title.

Meanwhile, UAAP back-to-back champion Ateneo de Manila also guns for a repeat in the Second Season of Spikers’ Turf Collegiate Conference.

The Blue Eagles are in Group B with NCAA runner up Emilio Aguinaldo College, San Beda College, UP, UST, National College of Business and Arts.

NCAA champion University of Perpetual Help, NU, CSB, FEU, De La Salle and Philippine Merchant Marine School are in Group A.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @meilinlozada