Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Sun, Jul 22

    V-League Open tourney draws All-Star cast

    Aug 15, 2013

    HARD-hitting Ateneo star Alyssa Valdez, former Lady Eagle skipper Charo Soriano and Sue Roces head the Smart-Maynilad while Army will be bannered by veteran spikers Nene Bautista, MJ Balse, Rachel Anne Daquis and Michelle Carolino in the Shakey’s V-League Open Conference that opens on Sunday at the Arena in San Juan.

    Looking to steal the show from the two title favorites are Meralco, Philippine National Police, Cagayan Province, Air Force, Navy and FEU.

    Maureen Penetrante-Ouano will lead Meralco with former college stars Stephanie Mercado and Ivy Remulla of La Salle and Fille Cainglet of Ateneo expected to provide the needed boost. National U’s ace setter Jennylyn Reyes, Zharmaine Velez, Karla Bello and April Jose are also in the team.

    Michelle Datuin and Jill Gustilo spearhead the PNP squad, while FEU parades a team featuring Christine Agno, Bernadeth Pons and Marie Simborio.

    Cagayan Province, runner-up to San Sebastian-Sandugo last year, will be led by former University of Santo Tomas aces Aiza Maizo and Angeli Tabaquero with Jheck-Jheck Dionela, Rosemarie Vargas and  Leuseht Dawis.

    Air Force will bank on former UST stalwarts Maika Ortiz, Judy Ann Caballejo and setter Rhea Dimaculangan with team captain Liza de Ramos, while Navy will be led by Michelle Laborte, Abigail Praca, Janeth Serafica and Czarina Reyes.

    Meralco and Philippine National Police clash in the opener at 2 p.m., and Smart-Maynilad battles FEU clash in the 4 p.m. match.

    Games will be held Sundays, Tuesdays and Fridays and will be aired on a delayed basis on GMA News TV Channel 11.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Read Next
    read more stories about:
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result