Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Mon, Jun 1

    UST goes for clincher, Ateneo seeks decider in UAAP women's volley finals

    May 15, 2019
    PHOTO: Marlo Cueto

    UNIVERSITY of Santo Tomas looks to complete a sweep, while Ateneo tries to force a decider in the UAAP women’s volleyball finals on Wednesday at the Mall of Asia Arena in Pasay City.

    The Tigresses are hoping to end a nine-year title drought and deliver UST’s 15th women’s volleyball title.

    The second match of the best-of-three series starts at 4 p.m. after the awarding ceremony for top players.

    Sisi Rondina is set to receive the MVP trophy and UST teammate Eya Laure the Rookie of the Year award.

    Rondina noted there is still work to be done after the three-set win in the series opener.

    “Hindi pa naman kami panalo. Nanalo lang kami that game but championship hindi pa,” said Rondina, who erupted with 23 points on Saturday.

    “Sabi ko isang game na lang but kailangan pa natin magtrabaho walang bibitaw pangarap natin’to. I-diretso na natin.”

    Laure said she has reminded teammates led by Ysa Jimenez, KC Galdones, Caitlyn Viray and setter Alina Bicar to follow head coach Kungfu Reyes’s game-plan to close out the series.

    Continue reading below ↓

    “Wag lang magiging kampante may isang laro pa di pa tapos ang laban. Kahit anong pwedeng mangyari, pwede siyang mawala basta tamang mindset lang,” the rookie sensation said. “Alam ko naman program ni coach Kungfu sobrang naniniwala kami sa kanya yung training na binibigay ka yun tlaga nag mold samin as a player.”

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    UST is brimming with confidence after seven straight wins, four in the eliminations followed by back-to-back victories over La Salle.

    The Lady Eagles, meanwhile, look to regain their winning ways after suffering only their fourth loss of the tournament.

    They need production from more players, after Kat Tolentino wound up as the only Lady Eagle to score in double figures in the series opener with 12 points.

    Focus will be on Maddie Madayag, Bea De Leon, Deanna Wong, Ponggay Gaston and Jules Samonte as they try to keep alive their bid to regain the crown they last won in 2015.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
    PHOTO: Marlo Cueto
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result