Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Mon, Oct 25

    UAAP approves format change in volley awards to honor top players per position

    Jan 17, 2019
    Marck Espejo has won the last five UAAP MVP awards in the men's division.

    THE UAAP board has approved the changes in the classification of individual awardees in both the men’s and women’s volleyball tournaments and will be implemented right away in Season 81 that fires off next month.

    UE athletic director Rod Roque, a member of the board, confirmed in a text message that the league will change the format of the individual awards to honor players per position, to conform to international standards set by the FIVB and AVC.

    Like the other Philippine volleyball tournaments such as NCAA, PSL, PVL and even the UAAP Girls’ division, the league’s men’s and women’s divisions will finally honor the players by position: 1st and 2nd Best Outside Hitters, 1st and 2nd Best Middle Blockers, Best Opposite Hitter, Best Setter and Best Libero including the MVP.

    “We will be following the FIVB on the giving of individual awards. By position already, no longer by skills,”said Roque, who attended the board meeting last Tuesday and Wednesday at the National University campus.

    Continue reading below ↓

    It will be the first time for the UAAP to award the players per position as the league will no longer honor practice the traditional skills-based awards such as Best Attacker, Best Scorer, Best Server, Best Blocker, Best Digger, Best Receiver and Best Setter.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    Roque, also part of the league’s eligibility committee, said that the board unanimously agreed to the changes in the awarding of the men’s and women’s volleyball tournaments.

    “Yes unanimous ang naging decision ng board,” said the representative of the UAAP board to the Larong Volleyball Sa Pilipinas Inc.

    The UE Athletic Director added that there will also be updates on general rules and regulations per sporting events, which the board will announce soon.

    “Actually, ang dami daming napag usapan regarding general rules and regulations, ground rules per sporting events that’swhy it took us two days,” he said. “We will be announcing if everything has been polished and approved.”

    Continue reading below ↓
    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
    Marck Espejo has won the last five UAAP MVP awards in the men's division.
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result