Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Thu, Jun 17

    Bryan Bagunas crowned first UAAP MVP in post-Espejo era

    May 10, 2019

    NATIONAL University star Bryan Bagunas captured the UAAP Season 81 men’s volleyball MVP on top of three other individual awards.

    After Ateneo’s five-time MVP Marck Espejo dominated the league in the past five years, Bagunas proved that this is his time to shine becoming the first-ever season MVP from National University in the Final Four era.

    The graduating Bulldog consistently delivered for NU winning 13 straight of the 14-game elimination round before beating Adamson in the Final Four and inched a series closer from a title repeat.

    Bagunas will also bring home three more plums winning the 1st Best Outside Spikers as he ended up as the most efficient attacker with 53.49% success rate, the Best Scorer with league best 20.36 points average and the Best Server trophy after topping the race with 0.47 ace per set.

    Besides Bagunas, his teammate Nico Almendras is set to be named as Rookie of the Year, while James Natividad won the Best Opposite Spiker plum.

    Continue reading below ↓

    NU will be making its seventh straight Finals appearance on Saturday against Far Eastern University at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.

    The Bulldogs will raise their six individual awards in Game 2 of the Finals on Wednesday at the MOA Arena in Pasay City.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    FEU got two individual awardees with Jude Garcia being named as 2nd Best Outside, while John Paul Bugaoan bagging the 1st Best Middle Blocker John Paul Bugaoan.

    Ateneo has three awardees with Chumason Njigha winning the 2nd Best Middle Blocker, Lawrence Gil Magadia topping the Best Setter race Lawrence Gil Magadia, while Manuel Sumanguid earning the Best Libero plum.

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result