Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Wed, Sep 26

    Michele Gumabao, Alyssa Valdez head cast in V-League All-Star Game

    Nov 19, 2016
    Alyssa Valdez leads Team Puso, while Michele Gumabao has been tapped to head Team Palaban. 

    MICHELE Gumabao and Alyssa Valdez, long-time foes in the UAAP, head the cast in the Shakey’s V-League All-Star Game on Sunday at the Philsports Arena.

    Gumabao, the former La Salle ace who helped power Pocari Sweat to a sweep of two titles in its maiden season in the V-League, will be joined by Pocari teammates Myla Pablo, Gyzelle Sy and libero Melissa Gohing, Jia Morado of Ateneo, UP’s Diana Carlos, Marianne Buitre and Isa Molde, Cherry Rondina and Ria Meneses of UST, BaliPure’s Amy Ahomiro and Far Eastern University’s Toni Basas for Team Palaban.

    Valdez, who has played for BaliPure and Customs this season, leads Team Puso that also includes Dzi Gervacio and libero Denden Lazaro of BaliPure, Laoag’s Jessica Galanza and Wenneth Eulalio, Air Force’s Jocemer Tapic and Wendy Semana, EJ Laure of UST, Customs’ Fenela Emnas, UP’s Nicole Tiamzon, Remy Palma of FEU and Elaine Kasilag of Pocari.

    The match is being held to raise funds for victims of Typhoon Lawin and at the same time give back to the fans, who also get a chance to join their favorite players for fun and games from 1:30 p.m. before the 5:15 p.m. match.

    Also on tap is the Spikers’ Turf All-Star at 3 p.m. featuring the aces in the country’s premier men’s volley league.

    Pocari’s winning coach Rommel Abella has been tapped to take charge of Gumabao’s squad, along with Jerry Yee of UP and Kungfu Reyes of UST, while Laoag coach Nes Pamilar, Air Force’s Jasper Jimenez and Sherwin Meneses of Customs will serve as coaches of Valdez’s team.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Meanwhile, the Spikers’ Turf All-Star will feature Team Hataw made up of Open and Reinforced Conference champions Jessie Lopez, Louie Chavez, Reyson Fuentes, Jeffrey Malabanan and Mark Alfafara of Air Force, National U’s Ismail Fauzi and Bryan Bagunas, Cignal’s Edward Ybanez and Vince Mangulabnan, Berlin Paglinawan of Champion Supra, Patrick Rojas of Army and Kheeno Franco of Instituto Estetico Manila. Calling the shots are Vhyl Verayo of Air Force, Dante Alinsunurin of NU and Norman Miguel of Champion Supra.

    Team Galaw will be led by Ateneo’s Mark Espejo, Ish Polvorosa and Rex Intal, La Salle’s Raymark Woo and Geuel Asia, Cignal’s Ysay Marasigan and Peter Torres, Air Force’s Howard Mojica and Rodolfo Labrador, Greg Dolor of IEM, Alfred Valbuena of UP and Jason Uy of Army. The coaches are Cignal’s Macky Carino, Oliver Almadro of Ateneo and Jun Balubar of IEM.

    The event will be aired live on ABS-CBN Sports + Action Channel 23.



    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
    Alyssa Valdez leads Team Puso, while Michele Gumabao has been tapped to head Team Palaban. 
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result