Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Thu, Jul 19

    Valdez, Lazaro, Marano, Daquis named to provisional PH volleyball team for SEA Games

    Apr 15, 2015

    ALYSSA Valdez, Aby Maraño, and Rachel Ann Daquis have been included in the provisional list of players comprising the Philippine women’s volleyball team to the 2015 Southeast Asian Games in Singapore.

    Based on the list of athletes released by the Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) following Wednesday’s board meeting, Valdez, Maraño, and Daquis were joined by sisters Dindin Santiago-Manabat and Jaja Santiago as well as libero Denden Lazaro in the 12-member team submitted by the Larong Volleyball ng Pilipinas Inc.  

    Rounding out a team described as a mix of young and veteran players are Julia Morado, Rhea Dimaculangan, Jovelyn Gonzaga, Maika Ortiz, Aiza Pontillas, and NCAA MVP Gretchel Soltones.

    LVPI president Joey Romsanta, however, made it clear the list is still subject to change as it was made to merely comply with the submission of the entry-by-name list imposed by SEA Games organizers.

    Romasanta also said some of the players have yet to attend practices, most notably those associated with the Amihan group of the Philippine Volleyball Federation (PVF), the former governing body for volleyball which has since been stripped of recognition both by the POC and the Asian volleyball federation.

    “Sila Daquis were supposedly playing for the SEA Games including Dimaculangan, Ortiz, Gonzaga. Pero hanggang ngayon, hindi pa rin sila rine-release,” said Romasanta.

    [See It's official: Valdez to be the PH flag bearer in SEA Games]

    Romasanta hinted that those who have not attended practices will be replaced eventually.

    “Hindi pa ‘yan official. Subject to change pa ‘yan,” said Romasanta.

    Continue reading below ↓

    The Philippines, which will be competing in the women's volleyball event for the first time since 2005, is bracketed in Group B with Vietnam and Indonesia, the second and third place finishers, respectively, in the SEA Games of two years ago along with Malaysia.

    Defending champion Thailand heads Group A which also has Singapore and Myanmar.

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result