Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Mon, Nov 30

    Mau, Carlos, Laure, Arado the fresh faces in SEA Games pool

    Mar 8, 2019
    Jia Morado, Jerrili Malabanan, Dawn Macandili, Eya Laure, Alyssa Valdez, and Aby Maraño are in the 22-woman national poo.
    PHOTO: jerome ascaño

    KALEI Mau, Tots Carlos, Eya Laure, and Kath Arado headline the newcomers in the 22-woman national volleyball pool for the 30th Southeast Asian Games in the Philippines from November 30 to December 10.

    Aside from United Volleyball Club’s Mau, teammate and fellow Fil-Am Alohi Robins-Hardy, and Sta. Lucia star MJ Phillips made the cut coached by Shaq Delos Santos.

    UAAP stars Carlos, Laure and Arado also made it to the initial roster backed by Rebiso together with FEU players Jerrili Malabanan, Celine Domingo and Angel Cayuna.

    Alyssa Valdez will be on her eighth national team stint and possibly third SEA games as she and fellow mainstays Aby Maraño, Jaja Santiago, Mika Reyes, Majoy Baron, Dindin Santiago-Manabat, Jia Morado, Jema Galanza Dawn Macandili and Denden Lazaro were listed in the 22-woman pool.


      Petron’s Aiza Maizo-Pontillas and Ces Molina will be making their return to the national pool for the first time since campaigning in the 2017 SEA Games and AVC Seniors women’s volleyball championship.

      Continue reading below ↓

      Last year’s Asian Games campaigners Kim Fajardo, Maika Ortiz, Kim Kianna Dy, and Cha Cruz-Behag as well as Risa Sato, Grethcel Soltones, Jasmine Nabor, and Melissa Gohing, who participated in the AVC Cup in Thailand also last year, didn’t make it to the pool.

      Continue reading below ↓
      Recommended Videos

      Meanwhile, Marck Espejo will be making his return to the men’s national team as part of the 20-man pool after missing the SEA games two years ago.

      The five-time UAAP MVP out of Ateneo, who has been turning heads in Japan V. Premier League playing for Oita Miyoshi Weisse Adler, joins Bryan Bagunas, Johnvic Deguzman, Ranran Abdilla and Mark Alfafara.

      Men’s national team head coach Dante Alinsunurin also called Kim Dayandante, Joven Dela Vega, Rex Intal, Fauzi Ismail, Jack Kalingking, Jessie Lopez, Jeffrey Malabanan, Kim Malabunga, Rikko Marmeto, Ricky Marcos, Ish Polvorosa, Francis Saura, Jayvee Sumagaysay, Peter Torres and Joshua Umandal.

      The women’s team will also have an under-23 pool bannered by UP star Isa Molde, UE do-it-all spiker Judith Abil, FEU’s super rookie and reigning UAAP girls’ MVP Angel Canino of De La Salle Zobel.

      Continue reading below ↓

      The 21-woman pool are also composed of Ivana Agudo, Justine Dorog, Buding Duremdes, Alexis Miner, Roselyn Rosier, Alina Bicar, Lyanne Marie De Guzman, MaFe Galanza, KC Galdones, Imee Hernandez, Justine Jazareno, Ysa Jimenez, Marist Layug, Alleiah Malaluan, Mean Mendrez, Faith Nisperos and Jeanette Villareal.

      Kungfu Reyes will handle the U-23 team along with Tina Salak, Fritz Santos, and Clarence Esteban.

      Read Next
      Sorry, no results found for
      Jia Morado, Jerrili Malabanan, Dawn Macandili, Eya Laure, Alyssa Valdez, and Aby Maraño are in the 22-woman national poo.
      PHOTO: jerome ascaño
    • POLL

      • Quiz

        Quiz Result