'Triple threat' Daquis, Marano, Santiago-Manabat shift focus to PH medal bid in SEA Games
Aby Marano, Dindin Santiago-Manabat, and Rachel Anne Daquis have vowed to join the practices of the Philippine team for the SEA Games. Dante Peralta

ON to their next mission.

After steering Petron to the Philippine Super Liga All Filipino Conference without the loss of a game, triple threat Rachel Anne Daquis, Aby Marano, and Dindin Santiago-Manabat now shift their focus to the Philippine women’s team’s bid in the 28th Southeast Asian Games in Singapore.

Daquis, Maraño, and Santiago-Manabat confirmed they are ready to join the SEA Games-bound squad after getting some days of well-deserved rest following the Blaze Spikers’ successful title run which they highlighted with a two-game romp in the finals against the Shopinas.com.

 “Opo, maglalaro naman ako para sa bansa,” said Daquis, adjudged the MVP of the season-ending meet.

Marano, adjudged the Finals MVP, said they will just take some time off before joining Alyssa Valdez and Co. in the daily practices under national coach Roger Gorayeb. 

“We need to really rest kasi baka ma-burnout kami pero we’ll join the practice,” assured  Maraño.

“Nag-commit na po ako kay coach Roger (Gorayeb) na maglalaro ako,” said Santiago-Manabat for her part.

Anchored by two-time UAAP MVP Valdez and Jaja Santiago, the national team already started practices on Monday as the Philippines gets ready to complete in the SEA Games for the first time after a decade.

But the Filipina vollybelles have yet to train with the full lineup as Daquis, Maraño, and Santiago-Manabat had to finish their commitments for Petron in the Super Liga.

“At least wala na training ang Petron kaya focus na ako sa Army at SEA Games,” said Santiago-Manabat, who also plays for Army along with Daquis in the ongoing Shakey’s V-League.

While Maraño also plays for Meralco in the V-League and is set to anchor the Philippine team in the coming Asian Seniors Women's Volleyball Championship, the former La Salle skipper said she will give the SEAG-bound team her full commitment.

Completing the 12-woman roster of coach Roger Gorayeb are Jovelyn Gonzaga, Aiza Maizo-Pontillas, Maika Ortiz, Rhea Dimculangan, Gretcel Soltones, Jia Morado, and Denden Lazaro. 

Follow the writer on Twitter: @meilinlozada