Sweet repeat for La Salle as Lady Spikers sweep rival Lady Eagles to claim Season 79 crown
The La Salle Lady Spikers score their sixth title in the last 10 years. Jaime Campos

LA Salle showed nerves of steel in the homestretch as the Lady Spikers swept Ateneo to bag a second straight UAAP women's volleyball title on Saturday. 

The Lady Spikers almost blew a 10-4 lead in the deciding set but Des Cheng, Tin Tiamzon, and newly-minted MVP Majoy Baron played tough as they completed a 19-25, 25-14, 18-25, 25-18, 15-10 win at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.

Baron delivered a poweful kill before Jho Maraguinot's long error gave the Lady Spikers their sixth championship in 10 years.

Kim Dy was at the forefront of the La Salle's attack with 19 points including three blocks, while Tiamzon had 16 points with three aces.

Cheng who was named Finals MVP as she finished 12 points including a big one in the fifth frame that doused Ateneo's rally.

"We just wanted it more," said Tiamzon.

The championship, which La Salle clinched before 20,860 screaming fans, was a perfect sendoff gift for graduating skipper Kim Fajardo.

Fajardo finished with six points including four aces, some of which she made in the second set where the Lady Spikers led by 21-11.

Michelle Morente led Ateneo with 16 points, while Bea de Leon and Maraguinot each chipped in 10 points.

Katrina Tolentino added 10.


Follow the writer on Twitter: @janbballesteros