Jeziela and Nieza Viray score twin wins in NCAA women's beach volleyball in Subic
Jeziela and Nieza Viray stay unbeaten and within striking distance of leaders Grethcel Soltones and Alyssa Eroa. 

MARIA Jeziela and Maria Nieza Viray of San Beda came up with twin wins on Thursday in the NCAA women’s volleyball tournament in Subic.

The Viray twins bested St. Benilde's Ma. Angela Enginco and Ma. Kaila Selena Mendoza, 21-11, 25-23 then scored a 21-6, 21-15 victory over Mapua's Shaira Mahe Hermano and Kimberly Joy Luzon.

The San Beda pair matched the output of Perpetual Help's Marjito Medalla and Maria Aurora Tripoli.

The Lady Altas downed Letran's Kathleen Barrinuevo and Honey Kris Laserna, 21-14, 21-10 and Arellano U's Regine Anne Arocha at Jovielyn Grace Prado, 21-14, 21-16.

Also unbeaten with three wins were three-peat champions Grethcel Soltones and Alyssa Eroa, following a 21-13, 21-15 victory over Letran's Kathleen Barrinuevo and Honey Kris Laserna.

The Lady Altas are gunning for their fifth title while San Beda is aiming for its very first crown.

Soltones and Eroa, for their part, are eyeing a four-peat feat and a league-best seventh crown.

Perpetual Help's Relan and Rey Taneo, Jr. showed grit and determination to snatch a 18-21, 21-15, 17-15 win over Emilio Aguinaldo's Joshua Mina and Paolo Cezar Lim to grab a share of the lead with Lyceum in the men's division in the tournament being played at the sandcourt in front of Subic Park Hotel.

"We're just determined to win here," said Relan, who was part of the team that lost the indoor volley crown to Mapua and last year's beach volley finale to a Johnvic de Guzman-led St. Benilde team.

The Taneos had scored a revenge of sorts on the opening day when they pulled the rug from under De Guzman and Owen Bacani in a 21-17, 21-18 win.

LPU's Jhonel Badua and Meko Franz Binas smashed Emilio Aguinaldo's Joshua Mina and Paolom Cezar Lim, 21-14, 21-14, to also stay unscathed in four outings.


Perpetual Help is seeking its second men's crown while Lyceum is eyeing its first ever title in the sport. 

Follow the writer on Twitter: @spinph