Jaja Santiago, Marck Espejo named MVPs to lead individual awardees in UAAP Season 80
Marck Espejo won his fifth straight MVP award, while Jaja Santiago got the top individual honor for the first time in her five-year stint with NU. Jerome Ascano

JAJA Santiago won’t end her UAAP career empty-handed as the National University stalwart was named MVP in the Season 80 women’s volleyball tournament.

The NU star may not have won a championship in her five-year stay in the UAAP but she finds consolation in winning the top individual honor for the first time as well as the Best Spiker award.

On the men's side, Ateneo star Marck Espejo bagged his fifth straight MVP award after his record-setting season in his finaly year with the Blue Eagles.

University of Santo Tomas top hitter Sisi Rondina’s efforts didn’t go to waste as she was hailed as the Best Scorer of the league, while UST Fil-Italian recruit Milena Alessandrini emerged as the Rookie of the Year.

Far Eastern University stalwart Celine Domingo was the Best Blocker, La Salle’s Des Cheng was the Best Server, Ateneo’s Deanna Wong was the Best Setter and University of the East Kath Arado proved to be the league’s most efficient defensive specialist as she copped the Best Digger and Best Receiver awards.

Espejo copped his fifth straight MVP award, making him the MVP for his entire stay in the UAAP men’s volleyball tournament.

Aside from being the MVP for Season 80, he was also the Best Scorer, Best Spiker and Best Server on top of his league-record 55 points he scored during their semis match against Far Eastern University.

Out of his 55 points were 47 attacks.

Meanwhile, his teammate Ish Polvorosa also bagged his fifth Best Setter award.

Other awardees were Jayvee Sumagaysay of University of Santo Tomas was the Best Blocker, Jopet Movido of La Salle was the Best Digger, Rikko Mamerto of FEU was the Best Receiver and Ariel Morado Jr. of Ateneo was the Rookie of the Year.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @meilinspin