Top beach volleyball teams battle for first-ever BVR On Tour national championship
The first-ever BVR On Tour national championship happens on May 26 to 27 at the Sands SM by the Bay. Reuben Terrado

SIXTEEN teams are set to compete for the first-ever Beach Volleyball Republic On Tour crown and the P100,000 top prize as BVR holds its national championship from May 26 to 27 at the Sands SM by the Bay.

Cha Soriano, one of the organizers of BVR, expects exciting action as the top 16 tandems from the seven-leg tournament that included Boracay, La Union, Negros Occidental, and Cagayan duke it out for the title.

“We are going to see a lot of diversity,” said Soriano during a press conference on Tuesday. "Not only that we are going to play Metro Manila teams but also provincial teams from our succeeding legs.”

“All of these tandems have different kinds of strategy when it comes to beach volleyball plays,” she added.

Soriano will team up with Alexa Micek as they lead the teams in Group A, while Judy Ann Caballejo and Anna Abanto is in Group B. Bea Tan and Fiola Ceballos are in Group C, as Dzi Gervacio and Mich Morente are in Group D.

The national championship, which is aimed at promoting beach volleyball in the Philippines, will be aired on ABS-CBN Sports + Action.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @reubensports