Beach volleyball caps season with staging of 'Open' tournament at SM By The Sands
Charo Soriano and Alexa Micek are among the participants in the yearend Beach Volleyball Republic Christmas Open at the SM By The Sands this weekend. Jerome Ascano

A two-day, 10-team tournament caps off what had been a relatively busy and successful year for beach volleyball.

Dubbed ‘Beach Volleyball Republic Christmas Open,’ the Dec. 19-20 meet features some of the country’s finest volleybelles competing for pride, honor, and a total cash prize of P100,000 at stake in the meet to be held at the SM By the Sands.

“It’s our way of thanking the people who supported beach volleyball this year. It’s a good mix of players from the UAAP, V-League, Super Liga, and the NCAA as well,” said Bea Tan, one of the players seeing action in the event which was featured in Tuesday’s session of the Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA) Forum at Shakey’s Malate.

Tan was accompanied in the public sports program presented by San Miguel Corp., Accel, Shakey’s, and the Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corp., by fellow players Alexa Micek, Charo Soriano, Rupia Inck, and technical official Adrian Tabanag.

Among the players seeing action are Tan and Inck, Soriano and Micek, Fille Cainglet and Denden Lazaro, April Hingpit and Maica Morada, Julie Ann Tiangco and Mariel Sinamban.

Completing the cast are Rica Rivera and Cherry Rondina, Janine Marciano and Bang Pineda, April Romero and Rose Cailing, Judy Caballejo and Camille Abanto, and Arielle Estranero and Vina Alinas.

Soriano said the meet will serve as takeoff point for a bigger beach volleyball tournament in 2016 that will tour the country from Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao.

“We’re planning to bring it around the country and play in seven to eight regions,” said Soriano, who is part of the group ‘Beach Volleyball Republic (BVR)’ that conceptualized the event along with Gretchen Ho, Cainglet, Micek, and Tan.

“The group is created by athletes for the athletes in the hope of providing the opportunity to come up with a sustainable platform for beach volleyball in the country,” added the former Ateneo Lady Eagles stalwart.


The ‘Open’ will have the 10 teams bracketed into two groups, which plays a round robin elimination in the first day starting at 8 a.m.

Top two teams in each group advance in the crossover semis, where the two survivors will play for the title.

The semis and finals will be held on the final day and to be aired live over ABS-CBN Sports from 2 p.m. to 6 p.m.


Follow the writer on Twitter: @gerardmos