Alyssa Valdez, Mika Reyes head 18-woman national volleyball pool for SEA Games
Alyssa Valdez, Kim Fajardo, Mika Reyes and Jaja Santiago banner the 18-woman team for the coming SEA Games. Jham Mariano

ALYSSA Valdez, Mika Reyes and Jovelyn Gonzaga banner the 18-woman Philippine volleyball lineup for the 29th Southeast Asian Games in Kuala Lumpur in Malaysia in August.

Larong Volleyball sa Pilipinas, Inc. (LVPI)  president Joey Romasanta, vice president Peter Cayco and head coach Francis Vicente announced the official roster on Friday at Arellano gym in Taft Avenue.

“We (coaching staff) came up with the list, sinubmit namin ‘yun kay Sir Peter, so ito ‘yung upon deliberation, nagtalu-talo ng konti so finally we came up to a final list ng 18 players,” said Vicente.

Jaja Santiago, Rachel Anne Daquis, Denden Lazaro, Aiza Maizo-Pontillas, Maika Ortiz, Rhea Dimaculangan and Aby Maraño - all members of the SEAG team two years ago - will also be back for another tour of duty.

Rounding up the lineup are La Salle stars Dawn Macandili and Kim Fajardo, who were fresh from their successful UAAP campaign, Gen Casugod, Frances Molina, Roselle Baliton, Kath Arado, Ria Meneses and Lourdes Clemente.

Reyes was named team captain.

Also present during the announcement were assistant coaches Bryan Esquibel and Nene Ybanez-Chavez and trainers Kungfu Reyes and Ronald Dulay.  

Follow the writer on Twitter: @meilinspin