Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Sun, Jul 22

    La Salle spikers whip FEU 

    Dec 13, 2012

    DEFENDING champion La Salle feasted on Far Eastern University’s porous defense and scored a 25-19, 25-16, 25-16 win on Thursday in the 75th UAAP women's volleyball at the San Juan Arena.

    Down by four, 1-5, at the start of the third set, the Lady Spikers fought back and went on a 6-1 run sparked by a Mika Reyes service ace to regain control and record their second victory in three outings.

    The Lady Spikers also showed they have toughened up on defense, coming up with 11 blocks against none by FEU.

    Although the straight-set win was impressive, the shaky third set disappointed DLSU coach Ramil de Jesus.

    “Nakukulangan pa rin ako," said De Jesus. "Slow start kami. Titignan muna pano ang laro ng kalaban naghihintay kung sino ang magsa-spark sa team, so medyo nakukulangan ako."

    Victorana Galang had 15 points on nine hits, three block points and three service aces, while Jeushl Wensh Tiu and Abigail Marano added 11 and 10 markers, respectively, for DLSU.

    Rosamarie Galang finished with 14 points as FEU (1-2).

    Meanwhile, Adamson University bested University of the Philippines, 25-12, 25-19, 25-13.

    Shiela Marie Pineda had a game-high 16 points, while Ma. Paulina Soriano and Luisa Zapanta chipped in 11 markers apiece for Adamson.

    Liezchel Tiu produced seven points for UP.

    In the men's tourney, National University defeated University of the East 23-25, 25-15, 25-23, 25-16,

    Jan Berlin Paglinawan finished with 20 points on 15 attacks two block points and three service aces as the Bulldogs scored their third straight victory.

    Peter Den Man Torres and Edwin Tolentino had 13 points, while Reuben Inaudito had 10 for NU.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Homer Lauresta had 14 points and Angelo Torres added 13 markers for UE (1-2).

    Defending champion Far Eastern University beat La Salle, 25-23, 25-17, 26-24.

    Arvil Avila led the Tamaraws with 16 points, while Karl Ian dela Calzada and John Ian Depamaylo chipped in 13 and 10, respectively.

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result