Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Mon, Jul 23

    UAAP, NCAA, V-League and Super Liga officials tapped to help run Asian U23 women’s volleyball

    Apr 22, 2015

    ORGANIZERS of the Asian Under-23 Women’s Volleyball Championships are tapping officials from the top two collegiate sports associations and two commercial volleyball leagues to ensure a smooth staging of the event from May 1 to 9 at the Philsports Arena.

    Larong Volleyball ng Pilipinas, Inc. (LVPI) president Joey Romasanta said the event will be backed by a set of competent staff from the country’s leading leagues, including the University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP), National Athletic Collegiate Association (NCAA), the V-league and the Philippine SuperLiga.

    The event featuring 12 countries is a qualifying tournament for the 2015 FIVB Women’s U23 Volleyball World Championship to be held in Ankara, Turkey from August 12 to 19.

    “This is our very first international task, and we hope to do more than we could to ensure the competitors and our guests will receive more than the usual courtesies and hospitality we, Filipinos, are known for around the world,” said Romasanta, who is also the POC vice president.

    “This event is a symbolic gesture of the Asian Volleyball Confederation and the (world governing body) FIVB’s welcoming the Philippines as — technically — its newest member,” he added.

    The Philippine Olympic Committee and the Philippine Sports Commission have chipped in support in addition to the sponsorship given by Manny V. Pangilinan through TV5.

    Various stakeholders have also lent their expertise for the seamless running of the event which is part of the AVC and FIVB (International Volleyball Federation) requisites for the Philippines’ full return as a regular member of the Asian and world federations after more than a decade of absence in the international scene.

    Continue reading below ↓

    The Philippines is pooled with powerhouse teams Kazakhstan and Iran in Group A, while Group B will have China, India and Macau; Group C has Japan, Chinese-Taipei and Maldives, while Group D has South Korea, Thailand and Uzbekistan.

    The Philippines will also send a team to the 18th Asian Senior Women’s Volleyball Championship set May 20 to 28 in Tianjin and Beijing in China.

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result