Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Fri, Sep 29

    De La Salle-Zobel ends NU's four-year reign in UAAP girls' volleyball

    La Salle-Zobel cops its 10th UAAP girls' volleyball title
    Dec 9, 2018

    DE La Salle-Zobel captured the UAAP Season 81 girls volleyball tournament title, ending National University’s four-year reign with a 25-21, 25-23, 15-25, 16-25, 15-8 win on Sunday for a sweep of the finals at The Arena in San Juan.

    Angel Canino had 21 points from 19 attacks and two blocks for the Junior Lady Spikers, while Alleiah Malaluan had 15 points and 15 excellent receptions.

    DLS-Z, which took the series opener, 25-23, 28-26, 13-25, 19-25, 15-13, ended a five-year title drought as it copped its 10th title overall.

    “Lahat ng hirap ng mga bata yun talaga ang gusto kong bigyan ng appreciation. Kung hindi naman dahil sa kanila, yung tulong nila, yung sakripisyo nila hindi namin magagawa ito,” said La Salle-Zobel coach Tina Salak.

    Faith Nisperos tallied 21 points for NU, while Jimy Jean Jamili and Erin May Pangilinan had 16 and 14 markers, respectively.

    Meanwhile, Canino was the season MVP and the first best outside spiker, Malaluan was the second best outside spiker and best server.


    Adamson duo May Ann Nique and Ayesha Juegos were the first best middle blocker and best opposite spiker, respectively, Far Eastern University-Diliman stalwart Alexis Miner was the second best middle blocker, NU playmaker Camille Lamina was the best setter and University of Santo Tomas defense specialist Det Pepito was the best libero.

    In the boys’ division, NU moved a win closer to the title, defeating FEU-Diliman, 25-19, 22-25, 25-8, 25-13, in their best-of-three series opener.

    The Sampaloc-based squad can wrap up the series on Wednesday.

    Watch Now

    Get more of the latest sports news & updates on SPIN.ph

    Read Next
    Watch Now
    Sorry, no results found for
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result