Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Tue, Jul 17

    Alyssa Valdez adds PVL Reinforced Conference MVP trophy to growing collection

    Jun 13, 2017

    ALYSSA Valdez was named Most Valuable Player even as Creamline placed third in the Premier Volleyball League Reinforced Conference.

    The former Ateneo star becomes the first MVP of the rebranded league, adding to the three top individual titles she won in the V-League.

    Valdez, who also won three MVP awards in the UAAP, averaged 20.7 points per match with 37.32% success rate in spiking and had 0.51 aces per set.

    The 23-year old former Ateneo ace was a runaway winner followed by BaliPure hitter Grethcel Soltones, who had 13.1 points per game.

    Valdez was also awarded First Best Outside Spiker.

    [See Creamline sweeps Power Smashers to salvage third place in PVL Reinforced Conference]

    Soltones was named the Second Best Outside Spiker, Risa Sato of BaliPure was awarded First Best Middle Blocker, while Jeanette Panaga of Pocari Sweat was named Second Best Middle Blocker. Mary Dominique Pacres of the Power Smashers was awarded Best Opposite Spiker.

    Jasmine Nabor of BaliPure was named Best Setter with an average of  8.76 excellent sets per frame, while Melissa Gohing of Pocari Sweat bagged the Best Libero award after averaging 4.16 excellent digs per set and 37.89% reception efficiency.

    In the men’s division, Ranran Abdilla was named MVP.

    The airman second class showed no signs of rust after two years out due to a knee injury, averaging 13 points per game.

    Abdilla posted a 42.98% success rate on attacks, averaged 0.40 kill blocks per set and finished No. 1 in the service department with 0.47 aces per frame.    

    The other individual awardees were Mark Gil Alfafara of Cignal (First Best Outside Spiker), Air Force’s Fauzi Ismail (Second Best Outside Spiker), Philippine Army’s Jayvee Sumagaysay (Firstst Best Middle Blocker), Instituto Estetico Manila’s Greg Dolor (Second Best Middle Blocker), Edward Camposano of Sta. Elena (Best Opposite Spiker), Cignal’s Vince Mangulabnan (Best Setter) and Rence Melgar of IEM (Best Libero).

    Continue reading below ↓
    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result