Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Wed, May 31

    Refurbished court hardly a problem as Johnny Arcilla cruises to victory in 34th PCA Open

    Sep 19, 2015
    Johnny Arcilla destroyed Laurence Joy Obdina, 8-2, to set in motion his bid to reclain the PCA Open men's title.

    STILL reeling from the sting of last year’s finals defeat, former champion Johnny Arcilla came out motivated and scored an easy 8-2 victory over Laurence Joy Obdina Friday in the 34th Philippine Columbian Association (PCA) Open-Cebuana Lhuillier Wildcard Event at the PCA Open clay courts in Paco, Manila.

    “Halos lahat kami nag-aadjust sa bagong court. Medyo mahirap, madulas masyado ‘yung court. Marami pa namang laro kaya siguro mas gaganda na ang laro habang tumatagal,” said the 35-year-old Arcilla, admitting having problems adjusting in the newly-refurbished court.

    Defending champion Patrick John Tierro, on the other hand, seemed to have figured out playing in the new court as he continued his winning ways to advance into the third round of the event supported by Cebuana Lhuillier, Puma, Dunlop, Philippine Star, Head, Babolat, Compass/IMOSTI and Sarangani Rep. Manny Pacquiao

    Newcomer Ken Philip Paradela never stood a chance against the reigning title holder, who cruised to an 8-0 win.

    Fifth seed Rolando Ruel Jr was also unstoppable against Hans Asistio, 8-1, and joined Tierro in the next round of the men’s singles play.

    Also making it into the third round were ninth pick Marc Reyes and No. 15 Arcie Mano after weaving similar 8-1 victories over Bernardine Siso and Jason Timbal, respectively, in the tournament sponsored by Whilpool/Fujidenzo, Broadway Motor Sales Corp. Coca-Cola Fesma Philippines, Tyrecorp Incorporated, Pearl Garden Hotel, Metro Global Holdings Corporation, Avida, PVL Restaurant, Mary Grace Foods, Inc., Seno Hardware and Wire Rope Corporation.

    Third pick Elbert Anasta, No. 4 Alberto Lim Jr., No. 8 Ronard Joven, and No. 12 Roel Capangpangan led the pack of first-round winners.


    Anasta trounced Jomari Guira, 8-2, Lim prevailed over Rey Mayo, 8-1, Joven struggled at first but pulled through against Dave Mosqueda, 8-5, while Capangpangan defeated Joshua Kinaadman, 8-4.

    Other first-round winners were Joel Atienza against Bernanlou Bering (8-5), Dheo Talatayod over Jeric Delos Santos (8-7), Argil Lance Canizares against Raymund Malapitan, (8-0) and Arjohn Dela Cruz versus Larius Laforteza (8-4).

    The finalists in the men’s singles will earn automatic berths in the main draw of the upcoming 2015 Manila International Tennis Federation (ITF) Men’s Futures Leg 2 slated on October 2, while players who make the quarterfinals and semifinals will gain access to the qualifying round.

    Only the winners in the doubles division will be given spots in the ITF main 16-pair main draw.

    A total of P172,000 is up for grabs in the meet, with the men’s single champ taking the top purse of P50,000, while the runner-up gets P25,000. The ladies singles titlist and runner-up will take home P20,000 and P10,000, respectively

    Watch Now
    Read Next
    Watch Now
    Sorry, no results found for
    Johnny Arcilla destroyed Laurence Joy Obdina, 8-2, to set in motion his bid to reclain the PCA Open men's title.
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result