Globe HEAD tennis circuit celebrates 17th year with 17 tournaments across the nation
Albert Tinio, Globe vice president for mobile cluster sales, Liza Tang-Yuqico, managing director of HEAD Philippines, and national team coach Chris Cuarto hold court during the press conference. Reuben Terrado

THE Globe HEAD Graphene XT Junior Tennis Satellite Circuit enters its 17th year with 17 cities hosting the prestigious tournament aimed at discovering talent in the juniors level.

The juniors tennis circuit will be held from March 10 to June 7 where juniors talents from all over the country will have a chance at gaining Philippine Lawn Tennis Association (Philta) points.

A press launch was held on Wednesday at the Conti’s Restaurant in Makati City where HEAD Philippines, Globe, and Philta formally inked their partnership for this year’s event.

“We believe in tennis because this is the sport where we can really excel,” said Liza Tang-Yuquico, managing director of HEAD Philippines. “It teaches a lot of values not only competitively. It really molds their character and discipline.”

Singles and doubles events from the unisex 10-and-under, boys and girls 12-and-under, 14-and-under, 16-and-under, and 18-and-under will be played in the 17 legs of the satellite circuit.

Globe will be partnering with the tournament for the first time.

“We feel that Filipinos love the sport. We make it best to provide opportunities for our kababayans especially our youth who are discovering the joys of tennis,” said Albert Tinio, Globe vice president for mobile cluster sales.

“Tournaments that happen throughout the year are vital to the grassroots level. Our vision is for the kids to compete locally, and eventually, internationally,” said national team coach Chris Cuarto, representing Philta.

Davao will host the kickoff leg of the satellite circuit from March 10 to 14, before the circuit moves to Isulan, Sultan Kudarat on March 16-20, Cagayan De Oro on March 22-26, and General Santos City on March 28-April 1.

The Visayas leg begins in Dumaguete from April 5 to 9. Bohol will host a leg on April 11-15 followed by Cebu (April 17-21), Bacolod (April 23-27), Iloilo (April 29-May 3), and Kalibo (May 5-9).


The Luzon legs are Bicol (May 5-9), Pampanga (May 10-14), Olongapo (May 15-19), Urdaneta (May 20-24), Vigan (May 25-29), Baguio (May 30-June 3), and Manila (June 3-7).

Follow the writer on Twitter: @reubensports