Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Tue, Dec 7

    Maria Sharapova, other tennis stars descend on MOA Arena for Philippine stop of International Premier Tennis League

    Sep 1, 2014
    The Manila Mavericks led by Maria Sharapova and three other teams battle it out for the title. AP

    TENNIS stars descend on the MOA Arena for the Philippine stop of the International Premier Tennis League in the Philippines.

    The Mall of Asia Arena, partner of the Manila Mavericks featuring Maria Sharapova and other top international netters, will host the International Premier Tennis League event from November 28 to 30.

    The IPTL event, originally announced to be held in Quezon City, is a unique team-based tennis league founded by multiple grand-slam tennis winner, India’s Mahesh Bhupathi.

    With four legs set in Manila, Singapore, India, and Dubai, the IPTL features 21 Grand Slam champions and 14 players who have held the No. 1 ranking.

    Aside from Sharapova, the Manila Mavericks also lists Andy Murray, Jo-Wilfred Tsonga, Kirsten Flipkens, Daniel Nestor, Carlos Moya, and top Philippine player Treat Huey as players.

    Other players participating in the Philippine stop are Serena Williams, Thomas Berdych, Lleyton Hewitt, and Patrick Rafter for the Singapore Slammers, the Indian Aces led by Ana Ivanovic, Gael Monfils, and Fabrice Santoro, and the UAE Royals’ Richard Gasquet, Goran Ivanisevic, and Eugenie Bouchard.

    Continue reading below ↓

    “We are very excited to house the IPTL. A premier tennis league deserves a premium venue with top-notch facilities,” said MOA Arena assistant vice president Arnel Gonzales. “ It is our goal to be an international tourist destination and to be home to the world’s best international and local acts. We are ready for the International Premier Tennis League.”

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    MOA Arena is also home to the UAAP, hosts PBA games and has held the Asian Men’s Volleyball Championship and One FC fights, among other sports events.

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
    The Manila Mavericks led by Maria Sharapova and three other teams battle it out for the title. AP
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result