Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Wed, Jul 18

    Macie, Liangco off to hot start in PSC-Philta age-group tennis tourney

    Dec 18, 2013

    CARLOS Macie and Rafael Liangco scored straight-set victories on Wednesday to lead the winners in the 10-under unisex division of the fourth PSC-Philta age group tennis tournament at the Rizal Memorial Tennis Center.

    Macie downed Joaquin De Leon, 6-0, 6-4, while Liangco beat Kryshana Brazal, 6-4, 6-1.

    Isabella Mendoza, meanwhile, scored a walkover win over Moira Velicaria in one of the matches in the premier girls’ 18-Under class of the event sponsored by the Philippine Sports Commission and backed by Wilson Championship Extra Duty Balls.

    The five-day tournament sanctioned by Philta offers ranking points for the country’s leading juniors and rising stars. A Group I event, the tournament gives 200 ranking points to the winners, with the runners-up gaining 150 points. The semifinalists will get 100 while the quarterfinalists will receive 70 points each.

    Tipped to clash for the boys’ 18-under title are Betto Orendain, Stefan Suarez, Joachim Samson, Jeleardo Amazona, Jerome Romualdez and Cenon Gonzales with Amazona also heading the cast in the 16-under category along with Stephan Lhuillier, Mike Mina, Matthew Mina, John Paul Dolores and Adrian Encanares.


    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result