Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Tue, Nov 24

    Cenon Gonzales, Jake Martin, other fancied bets advance in second round of age-group netfest

    Dec 19, 2014

    THIRD seed Cenon Gonzales Jr. and No. 7 Jake Martin stormed past their respective rivals in straight-sets to roll into the second round of the 5th PSC-Philta National age-group tennis tournament which kicked off Friday at the Rizal Memorial Tennis Center.

    Gonzales just dropped a game in easing out Noah Ramos, 6-1, 6-0, to set up a duel with the winner of the Jose San Buenaventura-Eric Ogawa match being played at post time.

    Martin meanwhile, overwhelmed Joseph Gadon, 6-1, 6-2, to arrange a meeting with the winner of the Kurt Molina-Javier de Jesus faceoff in the boys’ 16-and-under class.

    Other fancied bets likewise moved in the second round of the premier boys’ 18-and-U class of the event presented by the Philippine Sports Commission and backed by Asiatraders, Corp. for the Dunlop Fort All Court Balls.

    Emmanuel Fuellas held off Miguel del Rosario, 6-3, 6-4, and Manuel Balce III booted out Ricarte Santos, 6-0, 6-1.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Joining them in the Last 16 phase of the meet are Aidyll Ignacio, who foiled Jeremiah Macias, 6-2, 3-6 (10-7); Romnee Kyle Joseph, a 6-2, 6-1 winner over Michale Tan; Paolo So, who thwarted Marraphael Teng, 5-7, 7-6(5), (10-5); and Mark Chapa, who downed Kurt Molina, 7-6(5), 6-2.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    Balce pulled off a twin kill for the day as he also beat Miguel del Rosario, 6-3, 6-0, in the 16-U category.

    Jules Lazaro and Sherwin Villacorte crushed Jaime Chuidian, 6-0, 6-0, and Samuel Mamaril, 6-0, 6-2, respectively, to lead the cast in the boys’ 14-and-U age along with Javier de Jesus, Marco Ayala, Daniel Estanislao, and Eurydice Gaspar.

    De Jesus whipped Nemizon Diaz, 6-3, 6-2, Ayala scored a walkover win over Marlon Fortaleza, Estanislao defeated Utsav Shingal, 6-1,6 -3, and Gaspar dominated Lucas Fernandez, 6-1, 6-0.

    Other opening day winners in the Philta-organized last ranking tournament for the year were Michael Jimenez, Jose Bernardo, Edgardo Angara, Justine Maneja, Hailey Ella Agustin, Kryshana Brazal, Marcus Guinoo, Sarah Zhang, and Samuel Nuguit in the 10-unisex division, and Joaquin de Leon, Sherwin Villacorte, James Rohan Cruz and Estanislao in the boys’ 12-and-U class.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result