Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Sat, Jul 21

    Arcilla keeps Olivarez Cup crown as Tierro retires

    Sep 2, 2013

    JOHNNY Arcilla turned a losing stand into victory, ruling the fourth Olivarez Cup Open Tennis Championship as he outlasted Patrick John Tierro, who retired due to cramps with the score at 6-3, 6-7(6), 4-6, 6-4, 3-1 on Sunday at the Olivarez Sports Center in Sucat, Parañaque.

    Down 1-2 in sets and 0-4 in the fourth frame, Arcilla overcame two love-40 deficits to make it a 2-4 match as Tierro struggled while fighting off stomach cramps. The defending champion then went on to win the next four games to force the decider and later clinch the match and the crown.

    Tierro sued for injury timeout in the fifth but was never the same at resumption, retiring after Arcilla surged ahead at 3-1 and posted a 15-love lead in the fifth after four hours.

    Arcilla beat doubles partner Vicente Anasta in the final of the third Olivarez Cup last March.

    The top-seeded Arcilla held off Marc Reyes, 5-7, 6-3, 7-5, in the semifinals, while Tierro downed Alberto Lim, 6-4, 3-6, 6-1.

    Arcilla dominated the opening frame but Tierro struck back in the next, outdueling Arcilla in the tiebreaker before breaking his rival once in the next to seize a 2-1 lead.

    But cramps slowed Tierro down in the fateful fourth, failing to chase down Arcilla’s forehand and cross-court shots and blowing away what seemed to be a big lead.

    Top seed Clarice Patrimonio took the ladies singles title, beating No. 2 Edilyn Balanga, 6-4, 5-7, 6-2.

    Arcilla took home P40,000 while Patriomoino won P15,000.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Patrimonio also led National University’s domination of the event, teaming up with sister Christine to thwart Balanga and Alyssa Labay, 6-2, 2-6, 10-8, for the ladies doubles crown in the event backed by Dunlop as official ball.

    NU also took the men’s doubles plum as third seed Leander Lazaro and Ronard Joven stunned top ranked Reyes and Tierro, 7-6(6), 6-2.

    Philippine Tennis Association president and Parañaque City Mayor Edwin Olivarez and Dr. Pablo Olivarez, in whose honor the event was held, were on hand during awards rites of the two-week long event sponsored by Palawan Pawnshop and sanctioned by Philta.

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result