Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Thu, May 28

    Ateneo Blue Eagles retain men's title as UP Lady Maroons clinch women's crown in UAAP swimming

    Oct 24, 2016

    ATENEO asserted its mastery in the men's division while University of the Philippines used a strong last day showing to regain the women's crown at the end of the UAAP Season 79 swimming competitions on Monday at the Rizal Memorial Swimming Pool.

    Behind season MVP Aldo Batungbacal, the Blue Eagles dominated the four-day meet, collecting 603 points for their third straight championship and fourth overall.

    Batungbacal won the 1,500-meter freestyle (16:42.21) and 200-m breaststroke (2:22.95) in record fashion.

    Ateneo wasnlt able to complete a championship double as UP took the win, its 15th overall.

    Behind breaststroke specialist Pricila Aquino, UP finished with 444 points, while Ateneo wound up second with 411.

    Lady Eagle Hannah Dato bagged her third straight MVP award after winning six golds.

    That was one short of her seven-gold total last year, after losing to Jaja Cordero of the Lady Maroons in the 200-m butterfly.

    Also delivering the goods for Ateneo were former two-time men's MVP Jessie Lacuna, who won five individual and two relay golds, and Axel Ngui, who capped his collegiate stint with a gold medal finish in the 50-meter freestyle.

    Continue reading below ↓

    La Salle was a far second with 340 points, while UP was third with 194 points.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    The Lady Archers placed third with 129 points.

    Aside from Aquino and Cordero, also emerging victorious for UP were Winona Tee Ten in the 50-meter freestyle and the 4x400-meter medley relay team of Mikee Bartolome, Gabriela Torres, Monica Padilla and Joy Rodgers.

    Ateneo's Miggy Arellano and Andrea Ngui were named Rookies of the Year in the men's and women's division.

    UST won the boys' title and De La Salle-Zobel topped the girls' division.

    The Tiger Cubs ended the Blue Eaglets' 11-year reign by collecting 356 points against the latter's 312.

    The Junior Archers also unseated the Junior Tigresses, 373-370.

    De La Salle-Zobel's Sacho Ilustre and Nicole Pamintuan were named MVPs.

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result