Junior Archers complete SBP-Passerelle double
La Salle Greenhills' Rafael Louis Salonga of the Passerelle division, left, and Haribon Espinosa from the SBP NCR category, helped their teams top the tournaments.

The La Salle Greenhills (LSGH) Junior Archers were on target in the Milo-sponsored SBP-Passerelle tournament as its teams emerged the SBP and Passerelle champions in the tournament's NCR leg.

LSGH Team A squeaked past Xavier School, 62-60, behind center Carlo Abadeza’s 10 points to claim the Passerelle (players aged 12-14) title after settling for third place in the past two years.

In the SBP (players aged 9-11) championship, Shan Exequiel Vesagas’ 13 markers propelled LSGH Team A to a 49-42 win over archrival Ateneo’s Team A.

In the battle for third place, University of Santo Tomas defeated Chiang Kai Shek College, 64-59, in the Passerelle division while De La Salle Santiago Zobel A overcame Notre Dame of Greater Manila, 44-37 in the SBP category.

LSGH players Michael Louise de la Cruz and Joshua Miguel Marcos were adjudged as the MVPs in the Passerelle and SBP divisions, respectively. Sportsmanship awards were also presented to UST (Passerelle) and LSGH (SBP).

The newly-crowned NCR champions will face off against teams that will come out on top in the regional championships. The Mindanao finals is scheduled on October 20-21 in Davao to be followed by the Luzon finals on November 3 and 4 at the University of Assumption in Pampanga. The Visayas finals is scheduled at the Iloilo Sports Complex on November 17-18 with the National finals set to take place on December 1 and 2 at Capiz Gym in Roxas City.

Organized by the award-winning Basketball Efficiency Scientific Training (BEST) Center, the SBP-Passerelle tournament aims to develop the country’s next generation of basketball heroes. 

Organizers have also announced the opening of BEST Center’s Introduction to Basketball Levels 1, 2, 3 and 4, which will start on September 15 and every Saturday thereafter, from 8-11:30 am at the Ateneo College covered courts. 

Follow the writer on Twitter: @spinph