Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Mon, Jul 23

    Adamson completes title treble in UAAP softball

    Feb 26, 2013

    ADAMSON defeated National University, 4-1, in eight innings on Tuesday to capture its third straight UAAP softball crown at the Rizal Memorial Baseball Stadium.

    Luzviminda Embudo brought the winning runs home in the top of the eighth inning with a two-run double en route to a sweep of the championship series.

    The Lady Falcons trailed in the second inning before tying the match in the fourth on an RBI single by Clarice Palma.

    Adamson won its 34th straight win dating to 2011 but head coach Ana Santiago said that the route to the crown wasn’t easy because all teams have a balanced line-up.

    Nevertheless, the Lady Falcons swept the elimination round and entered the championship series outright with a thrice-to-beat advantage.

    “Maganda na ngayon ang UAAP tournament dahil it’s everybody’s ballgame,” said Santiago.

    Analie Benjamen started off the eighth inning on second base due to softball’s tie-breaker rule, and advanced to third on a bunt by Michelle Lentija. Adamson finally delivered a run as both scored on Embudo’s blast to deep center field off Rutche Tanola for a 3-1 lead.

    “Marami kaming left on base. Na-hohold nila ’yung batter namin. ’Yung kantian (bunting) namin, naging effective,” said Santiago.

    Embudo reached home on a single to make it a three-run advantage at the end of the top of the eighth.

    The game ended on a spectacular play when Adamson centerfielder Lorna Adorable threw out NU’s Carla Payapaya at home plate.

    Lentija was named Most Valuable Player, was cited for Most Home Runs (3) and the Best Slugger with a slugging percentage of .906. Other Adamson awardees are Embudo (Most RBI, 17), Queeny Sabobo (Best Hitter, .500), and Julie Muyco (Best Pitcher, 29 strikeouts).

    Continue reading below ↓

    Jullian Tanaka of the University of the Philippines was honored for recording the The Most Stolen Bases, while the Rookie of the Year honors went to Mary Louise Garde of University of Santo Tomas.

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result