Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Wed, Jun 16

    Perfect 10 for Ang but Rosario falls short

    Oct 17, 2012
    Eric Ang (center), Jethro Dionisio (left) and Hagen Topacio are joined by shooting president Mikee Romero (back) in the winners' podium.

    BEIJING Olympian Eric Ang won the trap gold medal for a record 10th time but London Games veteran Brian Rosario lost to Gabriel Tong in a stunning upset in the skeet event in the Philippine National Shooting Association's 2012 National Open over the weekend at the Buccor Muntinlupa Range.

    The 41-year-old Ang fired only 20 birds in the final round but it was enough to beat chief rival and fellow Olympian Jethro Dionisio by three, 136-133, thanks to his solid rounds in the qualifying phase where he finished with 116.

    While Ang was happy to win his pet event in the tournament organized by the PNSA headed by Harbour Centre president and CEO Mikee Romero, the Beijing Olympics veteran was far from satisfied with his performance.

    Ang said he was disappointed for failing to mirror his national record of 121 in the five-round qualifying stage which he set during the 2008 World Cup in Germany where he finished a respectable seventh.

    Continue reading below ↓

    “I need to fine-tune and train much longer,” said the diminutive businessman from Laoag who will spearhead the country’s bid in the Asian Shotgun Shooting Championship in India this December.

    Hagen Topacio edged out Carlos Carag in a shootoff to finish third.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    The biggest heartbreak of the tournament was Rosario, who faltered in the final round of the skeet competition, scoring only 19 against Tong’s 24.

    Tong, who trailed Rosario, 113-114, at the end of the qualifying round, finished with 127, four points over Rosario. Alfonso Lim, Jr. wound up third with a 117.

    Other shotgun winners in were Ylvana Dy in the ladies trap, James Chua Jr. in the trap novice division, and Lim in the skeet novice.

    Close to 500 shooters took part in the event that started last September 23 with the pistol and rifle competitions.

    Notable multiple gold medal winners in the men’s pistol division included the evergreen Nathaniel “Tac” Padilla, Carolino Gonzales, and fast-rising 18-year old Jason Valdez.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Padilla won four gold medals with three coming in individual events in 25-m rapid fire (550), center fire (546), and standard (541). Gonzales ruled the 50-m pistol (536) and 10-m air pistol (562) while Valdez reigned in the 10m air rifle (588) and 3-position (1134).

    Shanin Lyn Gonzales led the winners in the women’s division with gold medals in the 25-m pistol (535) and 10-m air pistol (374) while Inna Therese Gutierrez topped the 50-m rifle prone (589).

    Nonie Alvarez emerged as the most bemedalled shooter with four gold, three silver and one bronze. He highlighted his impressive performance with victories in the WA150 revolver, senior 48 rounds revolver, senior production and senior open.

    Randy Poronda remained unmatched in the bench rest (BR) 25-m and BR50-m while Maria Theresa Clutario stamped her class in the women’s WA 1500 pistol and 48 rounds standard.

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
    Eric Ang (center), Jethro Dionisio (left) and Hagen Topacio are joined by shooting president Mikee Romero (back) in the winners' podium.
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result