Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Mon, Jan 30

    SEA Games champ Archard Bagsit outsprints Unso in marquee PNG race

    May 22, 2014

    TWO-TIME Southeast Asian Games gold medalist Archand Bagsit beat national teammate Jose Unso in a tight, thrilling race for the gold medal in the 200 meters in the 2014 Philippine National Games (PNG) at the Philsports Complex in Pasig City.

    Bagsit, representing the Cagayan Valley Rising Suns in this year’s edition of the annual meet, won it with a time of 21.3 seconds to defeat Unso of TMS/De La Salle by just 0.5 seconds (21.8).

    One of the country’s rising stars in athletics, Bagsit won the 400m and was also part of the 4x400 m relay team that bagged the gold in last year’s SEA Games in Myanmar.

    Princess Joy Griffey of Philippine Air Force A ruled the women’s 200m dash with a time of 23.8 seconds, with Karissa Lopez of United Olongapo Athletics (26.9) and Patricia Angela Monsod of University of the Philippines (27.2) finishing second and third, respectively.


    The junior men and women’s 200 m finals were just as tightly-fought.

    University of Santo Tomas’ Romnick Nor topped the 200m junior men’s final with a clocking of 22.3 seconds, only 0.3 seconds better than Nino Lito Justiniane of Cebu and Christopher Lirazan of Bacolod City (22.6).

    Karen Janario of LSA-Smart Altas Team A clocked 25.3 seconds to win the 200m junior women’s race over teammate Leah Joan Creer (25.7)

    Another UST bet, Aira Teodosio, had a 31.92-meter throw to take the gold in the junior women discuss throw.

    In billiards, Warren Kiamco beat Jesson Marabi, 9-2, to clinch the gold in the men’s 10-ball event.

    Precilla Loren Aquino of San Juan, La Union topped the 200m individual medley and the 800m freestyle on Thursday.

    Aquino won the 200 m IM with a clocking of two minutes, 32.06 seconds to beat Ariana Herranz of San Pablo City (2:34.66) and Caitlin Jaycen Cruz of Puerto Princesa City (2:47.04).

    Watch Now

    She topped the 800m freestyle with a time of 10:44.19, beating Roanne Florence Yu of Manila (10:48.36) and Maurice Giovanne Dabi of Oriental Mindoro (11:25.25).

    Read Next
    Watch Now
    Sorry, no results found for
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result