Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Sat, Jul 24

    Chance to race in famed Boston Marathon awaits champs of 39th Milo run

    Jun 18, 2015

    CASH prizes and a chance to run in the famed Boston Marathon.

    These are the incentives that await the top Filipino runners in the 39th National Milo Marathon, which formally kicks off next week.

    The nationwide foot race kicks off its 18 regional legs on June 28 starting in Dagupan, culminating with the National Finals to be held in Angeles City on December 6.

    This year’s best male and female runners will be sent to one of the most prestigious marathons in the world as part of the rewards put together by the country’s longest-running foot race.

    “Boston Marathon is the mecca of all the marathons in the world,” said Milo sports executive Andrew Neri during the event’s formal launch on Thursday at the Bayview Park Hotel Manila.

    “We know the ranks of our runner and we can gauge where we are,” he added.

    The Milo Marathon King and Queen in 2013 were sent to compete in Paris, while last year the top winners went to Los Angeles.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Last year’s champion Rafael Poliquit submitted a time of 2:36:09 in the 42.195 kilometer US race after clocking 02:32:29 at home.

    Female winner Mary Joy Tabal, meanwhile, submitted a time of 2:51:17 in LA, 38 milliseconds ahead of her 02:51:55 Milo record last year.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    Other provincial legs are set in Baguio (July 5), Tarlac (July 12), Bataan (July 19), Metro Manila (July 26), Calapan (August 2), Lipa (August 9), Naga (August 16), Lucena (August 30), and Iloilo (September 20).

    The rest of the qualifying races will be held in Bacolod (September 27), Tagbilaraan (October 4), Cebu (October 11), General Santos (October 18), Davao (November 8), Butuan (November 15), and Cagayan de Oro (November 22).

    The male and female winners in the National Finals will each receive P300,000 plus trophies. Second placers will take home P250,000, and third placers P200,000.

    A bonus of P100,000 will be given to the first runner who will break the 2:15:00 invisible time barrier

    Continue reading below ↓

    An additional P50,000 bonus will be awarded to the first runner who breaks the 2:18:53 record of five-time Milo Marathon King Eduardo Buenavista, and another P50,000 for the first female runner to break the record time of back-to-back Milo Marathon queen Tabal of 2:48:00.

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result