Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Mon, Aug 20

    PH dragon boat team set for major PSA award

    Mar 4, 2013

    TWO women athletes and one proud team whose triumphs in the world stage were among the highlights of Philippines sports a year ago, will be recognized with major awards by the Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA) two weeks from now.

    Karateka Princess Joanna Mae Ylanan, taekwondo jin Mikaela Calamba, and the national dragon boat team are among those high on the list of personalities to be honored during the PSA-Milo Annual Awards Night on March 16 at the grand ballroom of the Manila Hotel.

    All three are recipients of major awards from the country’s oldest media organization for their stellar feats.

    The 20-year-old Ylanan, from Tacloban City, won a gold in the World Karatedo Federation Karate World Cup in Busan, South Korea by topping the women’s -68 kg kumite last August.

    Almost a month after in the cold waters of Milan, Italy, the dragon boat team assembled by the Philippine Canoe Kayak Federation (PCKF), bagged not just once but six gold medals in the 2012 ICF Dragon Boat World Championships to emerge the overall champion of the tournament.

    And by the end of the year, 15-year-old Mikaela Calamba became the first Filipina to clinch an individual gold in the World Taekwondo Poomsae Championship after topping the women’s individual freestyle during the seventh edition of the meet in Tunja, Colombia.

    “Their achievements are truly hard to ignore that all three are deserving of being honored with a major award each,” said PSA president Rey Bancod of Tempo.

    The three join an elite list of major awardees during the two-hour rites presented by the Philippine Sports Commission, Philippine Basketball Association, LBC, Smart, Rain or Shine, Globalport 900, ICTSI at Philippine Golf Tour, and Senator Chiz Escudero.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Also receiving major awards are boxing champions Brian Viloria, Johnriel Casimero, Donnie `Ahas’ Nietes, and Sonny Boy Jaro, cagers Mark Caguioa and Bobby Ray Parks, golfers Tony Lascuna and Dottie Ardina, champion horse Hagdang Bato, and jockey Jonathan Hernandez.

    Reigning super-bantamweight world title holder Nonito Donaire Jr. is joined by fellow boxer Josie Gabuco, world champion Manila softball team, and five-time UAAP title holder Ateneoa as co-recipients of the Athlete of the Year award.


    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result