Ramon Ang, Judes Echauz to be honored as 2017 PSA Executives of the Year
SMC president and CEO Ramon S. Ang has bankrolled successful basketball and volleyball teams while backing other national sports programs. Jerome Ascano

THE Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA) honors two distinguished businessmen in recognition of their support in the bid to lift Philippine sports to new heights.

Ramon S. Ang of conglomerate San Miguel Corp. and Ernesto ‘Judes’ Echauz of international financial company Standard Insurance will be the recipients of the Executive of the Year award from the country’s sportswriting community when it holds the PSA-SMC Annual Awards Night three weeks from now.

The formal rites presented by MILO and Cignal TV, is set on Feb. 27 at the Maynila Hall of the Manila Hotel.

As two of the country’s top entrepreneurs, both Ang and Echauz also found a common cause in providing financial and moral support to the campaigns of Filipino athletes and other sporting initiatives.

Besides being the brains behind the successful basketball and volleyball franchises playing under the SMC umbrella, Ang is also an ardent supporter of both football and karting.

The SMC president and chief operating officer has also backed such sports as archery, rowing, wushu, athletics, wrestling, karate, traditional boat race, judo, dancesport, boxing, muay thai, baseball, and petanque.

Echauz meanwhile, is the president of the Philippine Sailing Association (PSA) and owner of multi-titled boat Centennial III.

He has long been quietly backing the sports of cycling, duathlon, triathlon under the banner of Standard Insurance, of which he serves as chairman and CEO.

Ang and Echauz are in good company as past recipients of the award include the likes of Manny V. Pangilinan, Wilfred Uytengsu, Hans Sy, Dan Palami, Chito Salud, Ricky Vargas, and Philip Ella Juico.

The two prominent businessmen will join the country’s oldest media organization under president Dodo Catacutan of SPIN.ph in toasting Jerwin Ancajas, Krizziah Lyn Tabora, and Carlo Biado as winners of the PSA-Tapa King Athletes of the Year awards.


Ancajas, Tabora, and Biado lead the long list of athletes and personalities to be recognized during the traditional affair supported by the Philippine Sports Commission as major sponsor and backed by the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA), Globalport, Rain or Shine, and Mighty Sports.

Department of Agriculture Secretary Emmanuel Pinol serves as special guest of honor and key speaker during the two-hour program.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @spinph