Former POC presidents Peping Cojuangco, Dayrit appointed to new positions by Vargas
New POC president Ricky Vargas has made appointments that are in line with his call for unity and healing in the wake of a contentious elections. Gerry Ramos

FORMER Philippine Olympic Committee presidents Jose ‘Peping’ Cojuangco and Celso Dayrit are among the new appointees of new POC head Ricky Vargas.

Cojuangco was appointed chairman of the POC Constitutional Revisions and Amendments Committee with Dayrit, the man he succeeded as POC president, and election lawyer Alberto Agra as members.

The appointments were in line with Vargas' call for unity following a contentious reelection in which he beat Cojuangco, ending a 13-year reign by the former Tarlac representative in the POC.

“While I encourage the new culture espoused by young blood, we should make an effort to bring everyone with us. Not all that is old is bad and not everything that is new is good,” Vargas said in a statement.

Other appointees that were formalized on Tuesday are Robert Bachmann (membership committee chairman), Robert Aventajado (arbitration and disputes committee chairman), Al Panlilio (finance chairman), Robbie Puno (NSA, government, and PSC affairs chairman), Joey Romasanta (ways and means committee chairman), Ed Gastanes (ethics committee chairman), Cynthia Carrion (women in sports chairman), Jeff Tamayo (sports for peace and indigenous games), and Dave Carter (technical committee chairman).

Follow the writer on Twitter: @reubensports