Macrose Dichoso, Joe Marie Jovelo score narrow wins to top PSC Takbo para sa Kagitingan
A participant runs barefoot in the PSC Takbo para sa Kagitingan. Reuben Terrado

MACROSE Dichoso and Joe Marie Jovelo ruled the Philippine Sports Commission Takbo Para Sa Kagitingan run on Sunday held at the Quirino Grandstand.

Dichoso crossed the finish line of the 5-kilometer run with a time of 18 minutes, 36.60 seconds, beating veteran marathoner Jho Ann Banayag, who was 6.48 seconds behind the University of Santo Tomas bet, and Catherine Bristol (20:02.46).

Meanwhile, Jovelo topped the men's category of the 5km race in a photo finish with a time of 15:48.392 seconds as the Arellano varsity trackster won by just 0.531 milliseconds over Mark Anthony Oximar, who clocked 15:48.923, .

In the 3km division, Arellano’s Nicko Cortez and Far Eastern University’s Joneza Sustituedo ruled the men’s and women’s event, respectively.


Follow the writer on Twitter: @reubensports