PSA Awards: Alyssa Valdez is Ms. Volleyball anew, Romeo, Abueva share Mr. Basketball honor
Alyssa Valdez, Terrence Romeo and Calvin Abueva will be given special awards during the PSA Awards Night set on February 13 at One Esplanade. Jerome Ascano/ Jaime Campos

THREE extremely popular athletes who made a lasting impression during their respective stints with the Philippine team last year will be the recipient of special honors from the Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA) when it holds its Annual Awards Night presented by MILO and San Miguel three weeks from now.
Volleyball superstar Alyssa Valdez along with basketball heroes Calvin Abueva and Terrence Romeo share center stage with Athletes of the Year Nonito Donaire, Donnie Nietes, and Miguel Tabuena when the country’s sportswriting fraternity salutes the best and brightest in a formal ceremony at the One Esplanade on February 13.
Valdez is again being crowned Ms. Volleyball after bagging the same award in 2013 and 2014, while Abueva and Romeo share the Mr. Basketball honor.
Despite playing as rookies for the national squad, Abueva and Romeo played key roles in helping Gilas Pilipinas achieve a runner-up finish in the 2015 Fiba-Asian Men’s Championship behind China as the Filipinos came a win short of qualifying outright for the Rio De Janeiro Olympics set this year.
Now a three-time PSA Ms. Volleyball, the 22-year-old Valdez suited up for the national team in the Asian Women’s U-23 Volleyball Championship and the 28th Southeast Asian Games – which marked the return of the ladies squad to the biennial meet after a 10-year absence.
Valdez previously shared the Ms. Volleyball Award with Aby Marano (2013).
Also part of the honor roll in the gala night also presented by the Philippine Sports Commission (PSA), Philippine Basketball Association (PBA), Accel, Rain or Shine, Globalport, and the Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corp. is Gilas Pilipinas 3.0, which will be feted with the President’s Award for rising above expectations during its campaign in the last FIBA-Asia Men’s Championship.
Also to be given out are Executive of the Year, National Sports Association of the Year, Lifetime Achievement Award, and Posthumous.
Major awards in other sports will be handed, along with citations led by the gold medalists in the 28th Southeast Asian Games in Singapore.
Others to be recognized include the Tony Siddayao Awards for outstanding athletes aged 17 or below, and the MILO Outstanding Athletes for boys and girls.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @spinph