Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Thu, Aug 13

    Girl power as Saso, Didal, Diaz lead PSA Awards Night recipients

    Feb 26, 2019
    PHOTO: jerome ascaño

    THE Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA) on Tuesday night feted the best athletes of 2018 in its annual awards night at the Manila Hotel.

    Yuka Saso and Margielyn Didal personally received their award as two of the five Athletes of the Year given by the oldest media organization in the country at the Centennial Hall.

    Saso and Didal's fellow gold medalists in the Asian Games in Hidilyn Diaz, Bianca Pagdanganan, and Lois Kaye Go were unable to make it to the awards ceremony due to training and competition.


      Bea Lucero-Lhuillier was the guest speaker of the event as she shared her experience as a taekwondo and gymnastics athlete.

      Other major awardees saw June Mar Fajardo receiving his Mr. Basketball award despite arriving in the country just last Monday night after playing for Team Pilipinas in the Fiba Basketball World Cup Asian qualifiers.

      Kai Sotto was also present to receive the Mr. Fan Favorite ‘Manok ng Bayan’ Award.

      Continue reading below ↓

      The National Golf Association of the Philippines (NGAP) was formally awarded with the National Sports Association (NSA) of the Year.

      The National University women’s basketball team received the President’s Award for their reign in the UAAP women’s basketball.

      Golf patron Enrique Razon got the Executive of the Year, while bowler Bong Coo and cyclist Paquito Rivas received the Lifetime Achievement Award for their exploits in Philippine sports in the past.

      Continue reading below ↓
      Recommended Videos
      Read Next
      Sorry, no results found for
      PHOTO: jerome ascaño
    • POLL

      • Quiz

        Quiz Result