Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Sat, Jun 25

    World champs Ancajas, Tabora, Biado take center stage in PSA Awards Night

    Feb 26, 2018
    Boxer Jerwin Ancajas, pool ace Carlo Biado and bowler Krizziah Tabora head the list of honorees in the 2017 PSA-SMC Awards Night on Tuesday at the Manila Hotel.

    THE best and brightest of Philippine sports in 2017 gather in grand rites celebrating their exploits during the SMC-PSA (Philippine Sportswriters Association) Annual Awards Night at the Maynila Hall of the historic Manila Hotel on Tuesday.

    Three world champions in boxer Jerwin Ancajas, bowler Krizziah Lyn Tabora, and billiards player Carlo Biado are on top of the honor roll list as co-recipients of the PSA-Tapa King Athlete of the Year award handed out by the country’s oldest media organization in the yearly affair presented by MILO and Cignal TV.

    Ancajas, the pride of Panabo, Davao del Norte, made three successful defenses of his International Boxing Federation (IBF) super-flyweight title last year; Tabora crowned herself the women’s champion of the 53rd QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup, while Biado reigned as the new World 9-Ball king.

    The country’s top sports officials led by Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) chairman William ‘Butch’ Ramirez, newly-elected Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) president Ricky Vargas, and his predecessor former Congressman Jose ‘Peping’ Cojuangco are expected to lead the country’s sports community in honoring them and the rest of the year’s awardees - numbering 105 in all.

    Continue reading below ↓

    “On behalf of the PSA, we would like to congratulate all of our awardees. May they continue to inspire their fellow athletes in the hope of further uplifting the state of Philippine sports,” said president Dodo Catacutan of SPIN.ph.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos


      Department of Agriculture Secretary Manny Pinol, a former sportswriter, columnist, and boxing analyst before he ventured into public service, will be the guest of honor and keynote speaker.

      The PSC serves as major sponsor of the formal rites which is also backed by the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA), Mighty Sports, Smart, Rain or Shine, and Globalport.

      The Philippine bid team led by sportsman-business man Manny V. Pangilinan which successfully clinched the hosting of the 2023 FIBA World Cup, also shares the limelight as the recipient of the President’s Award.

      The Executive of the Year honor, meanwhile, will be shared by San Miguel Corp. big boss Ramon S. Ang and Standard Insurance’s Jude Echauz.

      Continue reading below ↓

      The Triathlon Association of the Philippines is the hands-down choice as the National Sports Association (NSA) of the Year, while veteran newsman and former sports editor Augusto ‘Gus’ Villanueva will be honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award.

      Special awards will be given to June Mar Fajardo (Mighty Sports Mr. Basketball), Marck Espejo and Dawn Macandili (Mr and Ms. Volleyball), and Clyde Mondilla (Mr. Golf), along with basketball star Terrence Romeo, who is the choice for the Mr. Fan Favorite “Manok ng Bayan’ Award.

      Major Awards are also to be given out, along with the regular Tony Siddayao Awards and the MILO Junior Athletes of the Year, even as the gold medal winners in the last Southeast Asian Games and the ASEAN Para Games lead the long list who will be receiving citations.


        Below is the final list of awardees:


        Jerwin Ancajas, Krizziah Lyn Tabora, Carlo Biado

        Continue reading below ↓

        PRESIDENT’S AWARD: 2023 FIBA World Cup Philippine bid team

        MR. BASKETBALL: June Mar Fajardo

        MR. VOLLEYBALL: Marck Espejo

        MS. VOLLEYBALL: Dawn Macandili

        MR. GOLF: Clyde Mondilla

        NSA OF THE YEAR: Triathlon Association of the Philippines (TRAP)


        Ramon S. Ang and Ernesto “Judes” Echauz

        LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD: Augusto “Gus” Villanueva


        Leo Austria, Thirdy Ravena, Mary Joy Tabal, Eric Shauwn Cray,Trenten Anthony Beram, Milan Melindo, Team Manila, Masato Fernando, John Alvin Guce, Sepfourteen (Horse of the Year)

        MR. FAN FAVORITE “MANOK NG BAYAN” AWARD: Terrence Romeo (basketball)


        Donnie Nietes, Joey Antonio, Margaret Ochoa, Annie Ramirez, EJ Obiena, Carlos Yulo, Toni Leviste, Kareel Meer Caniezo Hongitan, Jan Paul Morales,

        Eduard Folayang, Ivan Malig, Arnel Mandal, Divine Wally, Jomar Balangui, Pauline del Rosario, Bianca Pagdanganan, Elien Rose Perez, Veronica Ompod, Jacob Ang, Milo Rivera, Jovelyn Gonzaga, Centennial III, Cignal, Ceres Negros FC, Philippine softball team, Philippine women’s football team,

        Continue reading below ↓

        Shell National Youth Active Chess


        Trenten Anthony Beram, Aries Toledo, Eric Shauwn Cray, Mary Joy Tabal, Nikko Huelgas, Kim Mangrobang, Eumir Felix Marcial, John Marvin, Brennan Louie, Reyland Capellan, Kaitlin de Guzman, Agatha Wong (wushu), Carlo Biado, Chezka Centeno, Kiyomi Watanabe (judo), Mariya Takahashi, Dines Dumaan, Samuel Morrison, Philippine men's poomsae team (Rodolfo Reyes Jr., Dustin Jacob Mella and Raphael Enrico Mella), Philippine lawn bowls men’s fours (Emmanuel Portacio, Ronald Lising, Leoncio Carreon Jr. and Curte Robert Guari), Philippine ice hockey team, and Philippine men's basketball team.


        Cielo Honasan, Cendy Asusano, Prudencia Panaliga, Rosalie Torrefiel, Sander Severino, Philippine men’s chess team standard B2/B3 (Menandro Redor, Arman Subaste, Israel Peligro), Philippine men’s chess team standard/rapid P1 (Sander Severino, Henry Roger Lopez, Felix Aguilera),

        Gary Bejino, Ernie Gawilan, Arthus Bucay, Christopher Yue, Josephine Medina, Adeline Ancheta


        Continue reading below ↓

        Maurice Sacho Ilustre, Allaney Jia Doroy, Kyla Soguilon


        Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh, Marc Bryan Dula, Jerald Jacinto, Francis Obiena, Veruel Verdadero, Jose Jerry Belibestre, Kenneth dela Peña, John Vincent Pangga, Bryan Otico, Alexandra Eala, Juan Francisco Baniqued, Karen Manayon, Al-Basher Buto, Jerlyn Mae San Diego, Mary Angeline Alcantara, Johnzenth Gajo, Mark Lester Ragay.

        Read Next
        Sorry, no results found for
        Boxer Jerwin Ancajas, pool ace Carlo Biado and bowler Krizziah Tabora head the list of honorees in the 2017 PSA-SMC Awards Night on Tuesday at the Manila Hotel.
      • POLL

        • Quiz

          Quiz Result