Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Fri, Oct 23

    WATCH Abueva, MVP acceptance speech and other highlights of Spin.ph Awards Night

    Feb 2, 2016
    Calvin Abueva cradles his 2015 Spin.ph Sportsman of the Year award. Jaime Campos

    SPORTSMAN of the Year Calvin Abueva took center stage as SPIN.ph put the spotlight on the sports heroes of 2015 and their inspiring achievements on a night of celebration held at the Ceremonial Hall of Marriott Hotel Manila on Saturday.

    Abueva received the SPIN.ph’s highest honor for his exceptional transformation from untamable Beast to indefatigable flag-bearer that helped drive Gilas Pilipinas’ momentous runner-up finish in last year’s Fiba Asia championships in China.

    The night also belonged to the awardees present, including SBP head Manny V. Pangilinan, the unwavering patron behind the country’s return to the international basketball map; Ateneo Lady Eagles spiker Alyssa Valdez, undoubtedly the face of Philippine volleyball’s resurgence; Gilas coach Tab Baldwin, the leader that guided the national basketball team to another historic run; Donnie Nietes, the janitor turned longest-reigning Filipino world boxing champ; the Letran Knights, the team behind a remarkable Cinderella story in college basketball in 2015; and the UP Fighting Maroons for their inspiring show of support to the Lumads.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Davao’s Paralympian swimmer Ernie Gawilan, the man who conquered unimaginable odds to achieve his Olympic dream, and UP Maroon JR Gallarza, awarded for academic excellence as a student-athlete, could not make it to the event but still sent their gratitude via video messages. Kobe Paras, the Sportsman who Inspire Hope, was not present as he's preparing for his US NCAA stint.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    Some of the most esteemed persons in Philippine sports joined the celebration as well as members of the media and officials from the awards night co-presentor PLDT Home-Ultera and major sponsor Milo.

    Catch all the highlights of the 2015 SPIN.ph Sportsman of the Year awards night here.

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
    Calvin Abueva cradles his 2015 Spin.ph Sportsman of the Year award. Jaime Campos
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result