Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Tue, Jul 17

    V-League Open Conference comes off the wraps

    Jun 28, 2014

    THE Shakey’s V-League Season 11 Open Conference unreels on Sunday, with four of eight teams seeing action at The Arena in San Juan.

    National University battles University of the Philippines in the 2 p.m. opener before Ateneo faces off with Philippine National Police at 4 p.m.

    Alyssa Valdez leads the Ateneo squad featuring Amy Ahomiro, Aerieal Patnongon, Michelle Morente, Miren Gequillana, Ella de Jesus, Melissa Morado, Karen Derder and new recruits Bea de Leon and Therese Gaston.

    The Lady Patrollers hope to neutralize the Lady Eagles’ hitters and fuel their early bid in the tournament behind Ana Concepcion, Michelle Datuin, Diane Ticar, Frances Molina, Aidie Castro, Christine Maderazo and Charisse Perez.

    Focus will also be on the Lady Bulldogs, former First Conference champions, who will be led by Jaja Santiago, Myla Pablo, Ivy Perez, Desiree Dadang, Rizza Mandapat, Fatima General and Roma Joy Doromal.

    UP is hoping to make an impact on a team built around Alyssa Layug, Yen Ilustre, Angeli Araneta, Arylle Magtalas and Monica Ortiz.

    The Diliman-based squad is actually in line for a busy start as it collides with powerhouse Philippine Army, champion in this conference in Season 8, on Tuesday then take on PLDT Home Telpad on Thursday.

    The other teams vying in the mid-season offering of the league are Philippine Air Force and Cagayan Valley, which posted a league record of 16 victories in a tournament sweep last year.

    Rachel Ann Daquis, Jovelyn Gonzaga, Nene Bautista, MJ Balse and Michelle Carolino lead the Army, while Suzanne Roces, Angela Benting, Laurence Ann Latigay, Charo Soriano and DIndin Santiago head PLDT Home Telpad.

    Continue reading below ↓

    The eliminations is single round, with the top six teams advancing to the quarterfinals, another one round robin affair with the qualifiers’ win-loss records to be carried over.

    Games will be telecast on a delayed basis on GMA News TV Channel Mondays to Fridays from 1 p.m.-3 p.m. The NU-UP match will be shown on Monday while the PNP-Ateneo clash will be aired Tuesday.

    The top four will advance to the crossover semifinal round of the tournament sponsored by Shakey’s, organized by Sports Vision and backed by Mikasa and Accel.

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result