Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Sun, Sep 27

    SEA Games gold medallists, Asean Para Games winners to be cited in PSA rites

    Feb 7, 2016
    Double-gold winner Eric Cray will be among those honored in the PSA Awards. AP

    FILIPINO gold medal winners in the 28th Singapore Southeast Asian Games and their Asean Para Games counterparts will be honored with citations for their exploits during the Annual Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA) Awards Night presented by MILO and San Miguel Corp.

    Trackster Eric Cray stood at the forefront of the country’s campaign last year by winning a double gold in athletics, including the 100-m century dash of which he became the first Filipino to win the sport’s centerpiece event.

    In all, the Philippines won a total of 29 gold medals.

    Meanwhile, veterans Ernie Gawilan (swimming) and Adeline Dumapong-Ancheta (powerlifting) spearheaded the 11-gold medal performance the Filipinos bagged in the eighth edition of the Para Games also held in The Lion City.

    Together, the gold winners make up the bulk of the long list of individuals and entities to be cited by the country’s oldest media organization in the February 13 affair at the Esplanade, with the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) serving as major sponsor.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Twenty eight others will also receive citations during the gala night starting at 7 p.m. and supported by the Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corp., Philippine Basketball Association, Globalport, Rain or Shine, One Esplanade, National University, Maynilad, Smart, MVP Sports Foundation, SM Prime Holdings, Sen. Chiz Escudero, and Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    Included on the list of citations are Olympian Michael Christian Martinez, the archery team of Amaya Paz-Cojuangco, Jennifer Chan, Andrea Robles, and Jose Ferdinand Adriano, marathoners Mary Joy Tabal and Rafael Poliquit, teenage cage sensation Kobe Paras, Batang Gilas, Perlas Pilipinas Dragon Boat team, karateka Kristina Charisse Santiago, riders Kenneth San Andres and Milo Rivera, Ernesto ‘Judes’ Echaus of sailing, shooter Hagen Alexander Topacio, and the Petron volleyball team

    The rest are weightlifters Hidilyn Diaz and Nesto Colonia, ALA Boxing Promotions, International Premier Tennis League, Manila North 3x3 team, MVP Sports Foundation, National University Pep Squad, Philippine baseball team, Philippine powerlifting team, Philippine Superliga, SM Lifestyle Entertainment Inc., tennis patrons Jen Henri Lhuillier, Oscar Hilado, Rommie Chan, and Hanky Lee, and the 2019 FIBA-World hosting team.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Highlight of the night is the awarding of the prestigious Athlete of the Year award to be conferred on co-winners Donnie Nietes, Nonito Donaire Jr., and Miguel Tabuena.

    Others to be honored are Gilas Pilipinas, Wushu Federation of the Philippines (NSA of the Year), Alyssa Valdez (Ms. Volleyball), Calvin Abueva and Terrence Romeo (Mr. Basketball), sports great Filomeno ‘Boy’ Codinera (Lifetime Achievement Award), and the 14 recipients of major awards led by San Miguel superstar June Mar Fajardo.

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
    Double-gold winner Eric Cray will be among those honored in the PSA Awards. AP
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result