Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Thu, Oct 6
    PHOTO: Reuben Terrado

    DARWIN, Australia – Two MPBL standouts in Jorem Morada and Leomer Losentes lead the Philippine men’s basketball squad in the 2019 Arafura Games.

    Morada and Losentes are part of a squad whose players came from commercial leagues in Mindanao particularly in Davao and Cagayan De Oro.

    Morada and Losentes recently played for the GenSan Warriors in the MPBL Datu Cup.

    “Kinuha namin ‘yung dalawang MPBL players at ‘yung mga nag-standout sa mga commercial leagues in Davao and other regions,” said the Philippine team coach Cholo Elegino, who is the head coach of the Ateneo de Davao college team.

    “Noted naman ‘yung mga pangalan nila. We informed them and asked if they are interested to play.”


    Other players in the squad are Joseph Conrad Fernando, Michael Medrano, Francis Edward Espiritu, Jumabon Bulac, Norris Dave Arana, Arman Demigaya, Clemente Ruiz, Themor Aslam, Jan Rhey Lumogda, Vincent Campo, John Rey Manatad, Christian Ivan Jaive San Diego, and Dennis Villarmia.


    The Philippines is bracketed in Group A and will play Torres Strait on Tuesday, New Caledonia on Wednesday, and Johor, Malaysia on Thursday.

    Group B is composed of Chinese Taipei, ADF – 1st Brigade Darwin, Macau, and Territory-Top End, while Group C includes US Marines, WA Indigenous, Territory-Central, and ADF.

    Watch Now
    Read Next
    Watch Now
    Sorry, no results found for
    PHOTO: Reuben Terrado
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result