Valdez, Abueva, MVP on shortlist as honors 2015 Sportsman of the Year
Among those on the shortlist for's 2015 Sportsman of the Year award are, from left, Alyssa Valdez, Manny V. Pangilinan, Calvin Abueva, Donnie 'Ahas' Nietes and Tab Baldwin. Also set to be feted is UP Maroon JR Gallarza.

AFTER another momentous year for Philippine Sports, once again honors the sportsmen and women who made the biggest impact on and off the pitch during its awards ceremonies on January 21 at the Marriott Hotel Manila.

On the shortlist for the 2015 Sportsman of the Year award of the country's first standalone sports website are volleyball star Alyssa Valdez, Gilas standout Calvin Abueva, sports patron Manny V. Pangilinan, national coach Tab Baldwin, and world boxing champion Donnie ‘Ahas’ Nietes.

Now on its third year, the Awards Night, co-presented by PLDT Home Ultera and sponsored by Milo, will be held at the Ceremonial Hall of Marriott Hotel Manila.

Ceremonies start at 6:30 p.m.

Aside from the 2015 Sportsman of the Year award, also to be honored are Top 10 Sports Heroes who made their mark in the year just passed.

“We are once again honoring athletes, coaches, teams and sports patrons who exhibit the true qualities of a sportsman and continue to be an inspiration and source of pride to Filipino fans,” said editor-in-chief Dodo Catacutan.

Gilas Pilipinas playmaker Jimmy Alapag was named top sportsman of 2014 after Gilas coach Chot Reyes was given the honor the year before.

Announcement of this year's awardees will be made beginning on Sunday.

For more details, visit and follow @spinph on Twitter and /spin.philippines on Facebook.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @spinph