PSA to recognize young Pinoy athletes in Annual Awards Night
Asian Junior Boxing Championship gold medalist Kenneth Dela Pena is among the recipient of the Tony Siddayao Awards in the coming SMC-PSA Awards Night.

THE SMC-PSA (Philippine Sportswriters Association) Awards Night gives prominence to youth as 20 young athletes get a share of the spotlight in the Feb. 27 event at the Maynila Hall of the Manila Hotel.

A group of 17 individuals make up the year’s recipient of the Tony Siddayao Awards, while three others get to be recognized as the MILO Junior Athletes of the Year.

Both awards are geared towards recognizing young and promising athletes who excelled in their respective fields.

Three swimmers and tracksters, a pair of boxers, netters, triathletes, chess players, wushu bets, and a jin head the latest batch of Siddayao awardees, named after the acknowledged Dean of Philippine sportswriting, the late sports editor of The Standard Tony Siddayao.

The list is composed of Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh, Marc Bryan Dula, Jerald Jacinto, Francies Obiena, Veruel Verdadero, Jose Jerry Belibestre, Kenneth dela Pena, John Vincent Pangga, Bryan Otico, Alexandra Eala, Juan Francisco Baniqued, Karen Manayon, Al-Basher Buto, Jerlyn Mae San Diego, Mary Angeline Alcantara, Johnzenth Gajo, and Marc Lester Ragay.

The MILO Junior Athletes for the year, meanwhile, are Maurice Sacho Illustre, Allaney Jia Doroy, and Kyla Soguilon.

The young ones make up part of the total 105 awardees to be feted by the country’s oldest media organization in the traditional event presented by MILO and Cignal TV.

Leading the honor roll list are boxer Jerwin Ancajas, pool player Carlo Biado, and bowler Krizziah Lyn Tabora, who will all be bestowed with the PSA-Tapa King Athlete of the Year honor, the highest award bestowed by the sportswriting community during the yearly affair which counts on the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) as major sponsor and supported by Mighty Sports, Globalport, Rain or Shine, Smart, and the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA).

Department of Agriculture Secretary Manny Pinol, a former sportswriter, columnist, and boxing analyst, serves as the guest of honor and keynote speaker during the event.


Follow the writer on Twitter: @spinph