Joerge Andrade, Mary Joy Tabal seek to extend reign as Milo Marathon kicks off 42nd season
Mary Joy Tabal is eyeing to solidify her status as the Milo National Marathon Queen.

THE Milo National Marathon kicks off its 42nd season with this year’s winners in the men’s and women’s divisions earning spots on the national team competing in the 30th Southeast Asian Games and the Incheon Marathon next year.

Milo Marathon King Joerge Andrade and five-time Milo Marathon Queen Mary Joy Tabal will try to extend their reign in the event where organizers are expecting 150,000 runners to take part in this year.

One of the country’s biggest footraces will have an 11-leg event with the opening race in Urdaneta, Pangasinan on July 15 with the finals in Laoag, Ilocos Norte on December 9 of the event in partnership with the Philippine Athletics Track and Field Association (PATAFA), Inc.,

“Basta kung sinong mananalo dyan yun ang kukunin namin for the SEAG. We’re after the winners on both categories regardless of the time,” said PATAFA president Philip Ella Juico on Thursday during the press conference at Conrad Hotel in Pasay City.

After Urdaneta (July 15), the race will shift to the following key cities and municipalities in Manila (July 29), Tarlac (August 26), Batangas (September 16), Lucena (September 30), Iloilo (October 7), Cebu (October 14), General Santos (October 21), Butuan (November 11), Cagayan de Oro (November 18) and in Laoag for the finals on December 9.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @meilinspin