Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Sat, Aug 18

    Cebu rules combat sports to seize third

    Nov 24, 2012

    CEBU came up with huge wins in combat sports to close in on the leaders on Saturday in the Visayas leg of the Philippine Olympic Committee-Philippine Sports Commission Batang Pinoy 2012 in Tacloban City.

    With victories in karatedo, taekwondo and arnis, Cebu City boosted its haul to 28 gold, 22 silver and 25 bronze  medals and take third place in the penultimate day of competitions that serve as this region's qualifying for the National Finals in Iloilo City next month.

    Leyte Sports Academy’s charge finally stopped as the track and field competitions ended, but the home delegation still held the lead with a 34-22-22 tally, followed by Bacolod City whose girls’ swimming team kept it afloat with 32-22-20. Negros Occidental slipped to fourth place with a 27-13-13 haul.

    The Cebu City taekwondo jins flustered the opposition with seven gold medals at the Leyte Normal University Gym led by Ma. Carmela Coran, who drubbed Tacloban City's Maureen Grace Limchaypo for the junior women's bantamweight first prize.

    Joining her on the honor roll were Aila Marie Lepon in lightweight, Micah Marie Mission in welterweight, Marie Hans Therese Espina in middleweight, Sal Luiji Estrada in junior men finweight, Kylle Jhon Flores in featherweight and Yutaka Toyoda in lightweight.

    Cebu dominated karatedo at the Dep-Ed Regional Office Gym with a total of 11 gold medals. Five were won by Cebu City, while Mandaue City and Lapu Lapu City each came away with three.

    Clark Anthony Raganas won the boys novice kata, while also winning top honors were Ma. Arcien Verder in the advanced -39kg girls kata, Jesah Mae Ann Bacus in the advanced -50kg kata girls, Jeremiah Bullo in the boys advanced +53kg and Joshua Philip Salvador in the advanced -53kg boys.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Cebu City also found a gold mine in arnis, bagging seven gold medals including those of Mika Grava in girls pinweight full contact, Ronilo Lumantad in boys flyweight, James Indig in boys bantweight and Luke Placyd Galon in boys lightweight.

    Cebu City also ruled the chess competitions at the Governors Hall, with Felix Shaun Balbona, Rhenzi Kyle Sevillano and Glexan Derotas capturing the boys team standard, blitz and rapid gold medals.

    Keithclaire Morala ruled the girls blitz, Vic Glysen Derotas topped the girls rapid, and Sevillano the boys standard individual event.

    Jan Godfrey Seno also chipped in for Cebu City by taking the boys singles trophy in tennis at Tacloban Tennis Club. He later teamed up with Christopher Encarnacion to claim the boys doubles gold. But the duo failed to stop Michael Anthony Cuento and Harvey Klen Gilbuena of Tacloban City from taking the team tennis gold. Maasin City's Mary Joy Calapre, Angelica Mae Baluran, Janzen Angeli Albino and Princess Julienne Paler took the girls’ team tennis top plum.

    Tacloban City also dominated badminton at the Badminton Republic. Ysabelle Carmen Dumandan grabbed the girls singles title and girls doubles crown with Christian Mae Griego. Michael Joshua Lora topped the boys’ singles, while Baybay City's Benjie Labajo and Reeves Ian Ababat raised the boys’ doubles trophy.

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result