Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Tue, Aug 21

    Postrado, Payong rule Milo Marathon Naga leg

    Jul 14, 2013

    A long-time runner and a mother of four emerged the top winners in the Naga leg of the 37th National MILO Marathon Sunday.

    Eugene Postrado and Gemma Paying ruled the men and women’s 21-K run held over fair weather and with 6,601 runners who saw action.

    Postrado, an eight-year veteran, crossed the finish line first with a time of 1:16:08 or about two minutes ahead of runner-up Martin Balaybo (1:18:12) and Marino Jr. Lagyap (1:18:36).

    “I have been running for 16 years already, but this is only the second time I’ve qualified for the MILO Marathon National Finals. Qualifying for the finale is a huge accomplishment. I will continue to train hard and focus on my training regimen for the competition,” said the 34-year old Postrado.

    The 32-year-old Payong, a mother of four children whose husband also competes in the MILO Marathon, copped the distaff side with a time of 1:48:53.

    Some seven minutes behind her were runner up Melissa Missy Hilario (1:55:43) and Ma. Jean Benito (2:05:53).

    “I’m really not an athlete, but my family always encourages me to run. My husband is a trained runner who started during the 15th season of the MILO Marathon. He tells me that there’s nothing quite like the thrill of a national marathon. His determination never fails to inspire me,” added Payong,

    As an ongoing commitment to develop sports in the country, MILO’s Help Give Shoes advocacy continues to provide pairs of rubber shoes to various public schools across the country.

    A total of 500 pairs were delivered to beneficiary schools Sunday in Naga, namely San Jose High School, Central Bicol State University of Agriculture High School, Tinawagan
    Elementary School, Tigaon National High School, and Bonbon Central School.

    Continue reading below ↓

    With the invaluable support of the Department of Education and the National MILO Marathon runners, MILO has given a total of 25,700 shoes to date.

    The qualifying race will resume in San Pablo on July 21, before taking its act to Manila (July 28), Iloilo (August 4), Dumaguete (August 11), Tagbilaran (September 15), Cebu (September 22), Cagayan de Oro (September 29), Butuan (October 6), Davao (October 13), General Santos
    (October 20), Baguio (November 3), Dagupan (November 10), Tarlac (November 17), and Angeles (November 24).

    The 27th MILO Marathon National Finals will be held on December 8 at the SM Mall of Asia

    Read Next
    read more stories about:
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result